Rotisserie Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I found an easier way to add the spices: just sprinkle the chicken with Hy's Seasoning Salt (no MSG) If you cannot find that brand, other seasoning salts may be used. Normally, I prepare a stuffing with onions and celery (sometimes I also add mushrooms) sauteed in butter with pepper and poultry seasoning (a bit difficult to find in the U.S. but readily available in Canada). After the onion and celery (and mushrooms) are softened, I add bread cubes (any bread that is getting a bit old and stale -- whole wheat and light rye bread are favourites). I then stuff and truss the chicken before I put it on the rotisserie. I usually cook a 3lb. chicken about 90 minutes. I cook it over a pan made with aluminum foil. The resulting drippings yield enough fat to make a delicious gravy (with home-made salt-free chicken stock).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Ummm . . . no. I am a 'from scratch' kind of cook most of the time, but even I realized early on that this was a huge waste of time, money and effort. Rotisserie chicken from the supermarket is fairly inexpensive and quite juicy and delicious. From now own, that's where I'll get my rotisserie chicken and spend my time in the kitchen on recipes that I can make better than the local supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
A good recipe for starters but I made my own spice rub with brown sugar, smoked paprika, sea salt, ground peppercorn, garlic powder, onion powder, finely chopped fresh rosemary, and lemongrass paste. Apply the rub generously and put it in your rotisserie at 350 degrees for 30 mins per pound. I put a drip pan underneath with about 3/4 cup wine (or you can use apple juice). As the drippings mix in the pan it makes for a good gravy or basting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrkbrny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I would add some spice, maybe some lemon pepper. This would be to bland for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
If you watch the Video it tells you to tie up the legs & wings. Gives you how to if you don't have a rotissary & substitutes for butter if you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Tried this, but nothing like rotisserie from the market. Their secret is to inject seasoning into the meat and this recipe completely omits that. Skin was crispy and flavorful, but without injection, meat was bland. Put the leftovers into a nice curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
We may not find out how good this might be. We put it on the grill, following all instructions, and after the first 10 minutes on high, before basting it and turning the heat down, they were BLACK. They're still out there, so we'll see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
very unimpressed. agree with Cooking Apprentice. Way too salty if you enjoy the skin. the marinade never blended well. the paprika and pepper tended to settle to the bottom while the butter floated. won't do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Just made this for dinner and it turned out amazing! =) Followed the recipe exactly except we used olive oil instead of butter. We trussed the chicken & turned off the middle burner. Also smoked it with hickory wood chips. My husband said that hands down this was the best chicken he's ever had! It was so moist and tender-each piece literally melted in my mouth. Yum! Definitely the best recipe i've tried from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
So good. I double everything but the salt. Make rotisserie chicken weekly and this is the only sauce I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States