Roti Bread from India Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Good, basic recipe for a simple food. I cook mine on my pizza stone, and they come out great. As others have noted, it's important to keep the dough soft, let it rest for at least 10 minutes after forming the balls, and not to handle it too much. Roti or other Indian flat breads are so expensive at restaurants compared to making some at home - combined with a good curry or other Indian dish, this is a huge money saver and takes little effort to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Didn't like this-they turned out dry and nothing like I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Tried and loved it, will try a tad more water next time and shorten the cooking time becaseu they did get a little harder than I wanted, but for the first time making them, easy and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These are a great alternative to naan bread and so easy to make. Just make sure to roll them thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Excellent, easy, followed the recipe exactly..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
To make the rotis soft and poofed try cooking them turning the following way. The first flip right after you place them on the pan aprox 5-6 secs. Now cook this side for about 1 minute or until soft brown spots on the bottom. Now last flip for the roti to rise up a bit. At this point use a spatula or a folded towel to lightly press around the edges to let it rise and its ready. Make sure the dough is soft, not sticky or dry. Oil/salt or just plain doesn't matter. I love them every time i have them. Good Luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This recipe is plain and simple. Great for a beginner. My roti didn't poof up like everyone eles descirbed, but it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texan Girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great recipe, however I found the second time making it I tried omitting the oil and it still came out great. I will be making with it just wheat flour and water from now on. To prepare, I used white flour to help prevent sticking. I take small dollops and roll it into a ball, then roll out. If you've never made roti before, it helps to rotate the rolled out dough every couple of rolls to get that perfect circle. Then place the thinly rolled dough onto the pan, 1 minute each. You should see little white circles form. Then I use a metal spatula to throw the roti directly onto the stove flame. The roti should puff out. Once it does, use the spatula or a tong to flip and do the same onto the other side. Once puffed out, remove from flame and place on a plate where it will slowly deflate and flatten out into a perfect and delicious roti, with the characteristic brown spots :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were great! cant believe how quick it is to make them! I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sonalcooks
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
finally! I have asked my mom for years for measurements and gotten none. now i finally have a starting place! =) i did not use oil or salt. if you add a little oil it softens the dough though and then you can fry it and make puri. mmmm even more delicious but less healthy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States