Roti Bread from India Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
gr8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I made this with 1/2 regular and 1/2 whole wheat flour -- it came out wonderful -- very easy and fast recipe; many thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Bravo! I used all whole wheat flour. Quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I can't believe how something so simple can taste so good! I used half bread flour and half white whole wheat flour. I halved the recipe because I didn't want lots of leftovers...I'll never do that again! Husband loved it with tandoori chicken and red lentil dahl. Kids had it sprinkled with cinnamon sugar for dessert. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Ummm.. I don't know what I did wrong but it tasted just like flour tortillas. It's pretty dry and flavorless unless you add tons of sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I found I needed to change the amount of water as needed, but this is an excellent guide for rotis. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Very good. A note to NIVES123 - Roti is eaten with the meal (used to scoop up your dal, curry, etc.), it's not supposed to be sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
kick'n recipe! - made 1/2 and needed to add a little extra h20 - brush with ghee before slapping on a hot griddle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
lots of ways to make roti I guess... My grandma never used oil in the recipe and only does 1 flip. She first has the roti on the tava or frying pan at medium heat until 1 side is done while pressing the edges down into the pan with a tea towel because the edges cook last. She then turn the raw side down on a cooling rack set over another oven element that is set to high. If the first side is done properly the roti fully inflates on the wire rack set over the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
REALLY good!! I used different kinds of flour (a mix of spelt, rice and flax flour) instead and it still turned out yummy! Good with almond butter, tuna and salad, and dipped in oils. Will be trying it with many more options!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashap620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States