Roti Bread from India Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Don't waste your time with this recipe! I rarely give bad reviews, but I have to warn others as it took too much time to produce such a disappointing result. I wanted to replicate a roti bread that I have had at a wonderful Asian-fusion restaurant in the SF Bay Area called Strait's Cafe. Their roti is amazing--it is so delicious and flaky and is like a pop-over. I had high hopes for this recipe and followed it to the letter, and the dough was incredibly sticky and hard to work with (even though I floured the rolling pin and mat) and the roti that resulted was a bad-tasting, tough, flat pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
the measurements in this is wrong. one cup of water is needed, not 3/4. this will make for a more tender roti. also no oil is needed for good roti. use any type of flour you want. don't over cook.. 30 seconds on each side is fine... otherwise when they cool, they turn really hard. good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Not like Roti I've tasted but still very good and went well with a currie dinner I served. I found it difficult to control the heat and also I really needed a hugh grill for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
You could use butter instead of oil. It will make the rotis softer after they are cooked. Take care not to handle the dough too much.Also,brush the roti with ghee or butter, it makes it softer and it tastes really good. While rolling,it helps to lightly dust the rolling board and pin with some flour, so that it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I found it really hard to roll out thinly too and when I did they were really crispy. So I left the others a little thicker and they came out ok, nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PepperLime
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
When I made this bread I added a tablespoon of butter to the dough, used cracked wheat flour instead of durum wheat flour and sprinkled regular white flour on the rolling pin and counter. I also used a little vegetable oil when I was cooking the rolled-out dough. It came out flakey and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
good recipe. i omit the oil and after making the dough i let it rest for about an hour. then i knead it again and prepare the chapatis. i can eat 5 in one sitting! tastes delicious with jam--traditional snack that my grandmother fed us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Really easy & yummy. definitely will make again. The next day heated a little in damp paper towel & slathered with butter & vanilla sugar,mmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Love this yummy treat! I sprinkled it with a little garlic salt and basil before cooking, it tasted great! I love dipping it in hummus, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
One of my indian friends introduced me to this but called it paratas (and I'm probably butchering the spelling). I suppose the name changes depending on location. I'm new to cooking and couldn't get the water to flour ratio right... ended up with twice as much flour as I started with. Your recipe allowed for some porportional concept, so thanks! I made two more batches, one with about 1/4 cup brown sugar, light sprinkling of white sugar, and several pinches of cinnamon - turned out pretty tasty I think. I will have that with peanut butter for a snack. The other batch I put about 3 pinches of hand-crushed dried oregano (big pieces are too much for me!), a small pinch of coriander seed, about 2 pinches of ground coriander, and about 2 pinches of ground anise... oh, and some sprinkling of garlic salt... but not too much since I had already added salt. I think this will go well with dipping in some sort of tomato-y sauce and/or some dish similar. Plain old recipe surely is the best for most dishes though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States