Roti Bread from India Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were great! cant believe how quick it is to make them! I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sonalcooks
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
finally! I have asked my mom for years for measurements and gotten none. now i finally have a starting place! =) i did not use oil or salt. if you add a little oil it softens the dough though and then you can fry it and make puri. mmmm even more delicious but less healthy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I've been making these for years, and I don't use oil. I use whole wheat flour. After you mix all the ingredients let it rest covered for 20 min. Divide into balls sprinkle counter with flour. Take care when making balls, turn the edges under and when you roll out don't put any wrinkles in it as it will effect the final outcome in the oven. If there are no wrinkles it will puff right up, if there are wrinkles, they won't puff up. Turn pan onto med high heat and oven at 450 degrees , when the edges start to turn up, flip and do the same to other side. When second side edges have turned up take out of pan and place in oven, turn on the oven light and watch the show. It's incredible, it puffs up into a big ball of air.. 30 seconds later remove from oven and pat down to let the air escape and butter it. These are used to scoop your curry meats and basmati rice. Excellent. The nex day, I like to take a left over Roti and cold curry chicken and sauce over some rice and roll up. So Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salma1512
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is a great recipes for Roti I made mine with 1 cup all purpose flour and one cup whole weat flour I was worried about the results but the Roti tasted awesome and was healthier .there is a tip for having a better Roti press the edges with a patula that will make the Roti bubbels .Good luck .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salma1512

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
So fun and simple to make and a wonderful addition to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great Roti. It tasted just like when I was in India. It also helped that I made a tasty curry to go with it. I used one cup of water, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and one tablespoon of olive oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I agree 3/4 cup of water was not quite enough. I have a friend from India and she first taught me. For the life of me, I can't make them like her. I have tried may other ways, this was the best for me. Key was the kneeding. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Pretty good recipe but how the heck did you get 12 out of it?? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Turned out awesome!!! New alternative to pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
easy to make and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States