Rosy's Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The basics are almost all there but some big things needed tweaking. Usually when I make curry I put the cumin seed in first and then the onion. Cooked that until golden brown. Then the garlic. I also added some chilis because I like it hot. Then I added some more seasonings like cumin, coriander and chili powder but that is personal preference. I usually put the garam masala in with two minutes cook time left but doing it this way did not make much of a difference. The paneer I usually prep by cooking for a minute in oil or soaking in warm water until soft before throwing it in the curry. But the biggest thing is the tomato paste. I am not sure if this is what your friend meant but usually when Indians say tomato paste they mean tomatoes than have been blanched and pounded/processed in to a paste. A can of crushed tomatoes would have a closer consistency to what it sound taste like. The tomato paste just ruined the whole dish in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I doubled the recipe minus the tomato paste, just put in 1 can. I also made my own paneer. It was okay, nothing great. I don't think I would make it again. For as much work as I put into it making the paneer, and then having it come out so so, it wasn't worth it. Like others said there was something missing but I dont know what it was. I'm not a stranger to cooking Indian food but I still couldn't figure out what this dish needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Hamaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Fabulous! I have found that when I use a recipe with cumin seed (or ground cumin) I heat the seeds in a dry pan on the stove until they brown lately and release their fragrance. Then pour them in a mortar and grind them. Well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Tasty! I didn't have ghee so just used butter, and instead of tomato paste, used fresh tomato chopped and a little V-8 juice I had on hand. I used frozen spinach in the bag and left out the cilantro (none around) and the extra tsp. of garam masala. It is deliciously gingery. I don't know understand the criticisms about the tomato flavour - I have seen other paneer recipes using tomato and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I always order palak paneer when I go out, but I've never made it myself before and I'm so happy I finally did! The spices combined with the ginger turn out to be wonderfully fragrant and beautiful. The only changes I made were that I used butter instead of ghee, I used fresh spinach, and I put everything in the blender right before adding the paneer, which made it look and taste much more like the restaurant dish. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Rave reviews from guests about this Palak Paneer. They loved it. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Be sure to use ghee. And don't try to get fancy and use fresh spinach. You will save yourself time by using the frozen. Oh and I use a bit more tomato paste because my frozen spinach comes in a 16 oz. package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
really liked this recipe. had all the ingredients in-house which is always a big consideration. I used crushed tomatoes instead of paste (didn't have paste). like many others mentioned, the spinach is not enough so I added some frozen peas which went well with the spinach and paneer. I also added a can of coconut milk which made the dish creamy and rich -- much like in restaurants. my two little girls loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I completely agreed with bmotzbmotz. This was tasty but didn't taste (or look) like any Palak Paneer I've ever gotten before. I couldn't find paneer so I used ricotta. This could be a factor so I'll try to find it (or maybe to make it) and try the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was really good! I modified it by using vegetable stock instead of water, made my own garam masala (couldn't find it), added 3 T of it, too, used fresh spinach (1/2 of which I used hand-blender on for better consistency), 1/2 of tomato paste (afraid of it being too tomatoey), a bit of chicken stock (sorry vegetarians!) and that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States