Rossi's Sausage Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I knew by looking at the ingredients that I would love this recipe, and boy was I right! As with all red sauces I make, I never measure. I just throw some stuff, taste, repeat until good. Red wine and red pepper flakes were two additions I made. Since gnocchi is pretty bland as is, it can handle a zesty sauce. I used turkey sausage and threw in some fresh spinach that needed to be used up. Pure Italian comfort food. Thanks for sharing, we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Really easy to make and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
There’s nothing wrong with this recipe at all except that it needs to be personalized, as all recipes should be, to suit one’s own tastes. In my case, the “personal touches” included using my own tomato sauce I put up from my garden and, only because fresh herbs are happily in my garden right now, using just a little (not too much!) fresh basil, parsley, and the slightest bit of oregano. I needed no water and no sugar. For a little more substantial dinner I sautéed multi-colored bell peppers and mushrooms in addition to the onion and garlic. Oh…and as I always do when I cook, I sipped some wine – in this case an appropriate Montepulciano d’Abruzzo. As I was simmering all the ingredients together (including the sausage), I mindlessly tossed in half of my glass of wine into the pot, which I promptly refilled. As for the cheese, just as my grandmother and mother did, I used a blend of imported Pecorino-Romano and Parmigiano-Reggiano. Hubs was out of town tonight so I got to make whatever I felt for and this hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe. It was the first time I cooked nocci and it was really tasty! I used ground italian sausage and served it with cooked corn which went really well with it. I also added a fresh tomato diced. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Turns out my gnocchi expired, so I had to use pasta instad. I'm basing this vote on the sauce, since basically that is the recipe. The hubby and kids loved it and they all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good Recipe! I used hot italian sausage. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Cooked this dish with whole wheat potato Gnocchi. EXCELLENT! Drizzled extra virgin olive oil over the top. I dont recommend using fresh gnocchi as the consistency and texture are a little off to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used homemade turkey Italian sausage instead of the standard kind and it worked well. I wish there was a little more of the tomato sauce, next time I might make a little more of that. Also, this made 3 pans dirty, next time I will cook the sausage in one pan, then cook the sauce right in that same pan with the sausage. The gnocchi I would still cook separately of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I just made this for Sunday dinner and it was excellent. My whole family, including a youngster, enjoyed it! It made about 6 servings instead of the 4 listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was good! I used browned ground suasage instead of links. I also had no crushed tomatoes so I added 2 - 14oz cans of diced Italian tomatoes. I had more sauce than gnocchi. It would have been perfect with 1 1/2 pounds of gnocchi! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States