Rossi's Sausage Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Of course I had to try this one - as my daughter submitted it! Nice, easy family meal. I did add about 1/2 cup of dry red wine. Good recipe, honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This dish was fantastic! This was my first time having gnocchi. It is great! Not adding the sugar was my only change. Also, A little goes a long way. I looked at the little dish of gnocchi (1 lb) and thought "There's no way this is feeding 3 adults!". It did! - with leftovers! Thanks for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierJenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Huge hit at our house! I made homemade gnocchi for this and changed the sauce up slightly. I used a can of chopped tomatoes, a can of tomato sauce and a can of tomato paste and also used ground sausage instead. I am sure my husband will be requesting this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
There’s nothing wrong with this recipe at all except that it needs to be personalized, as all recipes should be, to suit one’s own tastes. In my case, the “personal touches” included using my own tomato sauce I put up from my garden and, only because fresh herbs are happily in my garden right now, using just a little (not too much!) fresh basil, parsley, and the slightest bit of oregano. I needed no water and no sugar. For a little more substantial dinner I sautéed multi-colored bell peppers and mushrooms in addition to the onion and garlic. Oh…and as I always do when I cook, I sipped some wine – in this case an appropriate Montepulciano d’Abruzzo. As I was simmering all the ingredients together (including the sausage), I mindlessly tossed in half of my glass of wine into the pot, which I promptly refilled. As for the cheese, just as my grandmother and mother did, I used a blend of imported Pecorino-Romano and Parmigiano-Reggiano. Hubs was out of town tonight so I got to make whatever I felt for and this hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was just okay. I did NOT add the 1 Tblsp. of the italian seasoning, and we still thought the seasonings were too overpowering (just using the 1-1/2 tsp.) I made homemade gnocchi, and after I had topped it with this sauce, I wished I had just taken some of my homemade tomato sauce out of the freezer and just used that with some fresh basil. My husband is from Italy, and they don't use a lot of dried seasonings over there. They try to keep things fresh and simple. Sorry - but I probably won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
loved this recipe. I doubled the crushed tomatoes though. Otherwise there would not have been much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Super easy recipe to throw together, and yummy! My husband says it's the best Italian dish I've ever made (his Grandma was Italian, so I'm up against that!). The only real change I made was using turkey sausage instead of regular. I did think the dish was a bit salty, so I probably won't add salt to the sauce next time since the rest of the ingredients are high in sodium...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srenaek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Magnificant!! Bravo! This is a rich and tongue tantalizing italian recipe that I will use again and again. I have made this several times since finding it and when I am in the mood for extra spice, I add only about 4, 1/4 inch slices of marinated jalapeno peppers and mix it up with pepperoni slices instead of italian sausage. Either way...if you are an italian food fan...you will love this!! I do! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Cooked this dish with whole wheat potato Gnocchi. EXCELLENT! Drizzled extra virgin olive oil over the top. I dont recommend using fresh gnocchi as the consistency and texture are a little off to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used hot Italian sausage as others suggested but didn't change anything else. A great, quick family meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States