Rosie's Bok Choy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We absolutely love this salad. I think you DO need to toast the ramen noodles, nuts, and sesame seeds, but do it in butter; about half what the recipe calls for is plenty. Then no draining is necessary. We love the almonds, but budget-friendly sunflower seeds are really tasty too. When I first received this recipe from a friend about 20 years ago, it called for 5 green onions. So that's what I use. We prefer less sweet so I use half the sugar, use more soy sauce, and add the seasoning packet(s) to the dressing. Because it just makes for a true Asian flavor I always grate in some fresh ginger. I say "fresh", but honestly I keep a root in the freezer all the time which makes it super easy to grate as well. I always serve this salad with the three parts separate for several reasons: individuals may want more or less topping or prefer more or less dressing, and that way everything stays crisp and fresh. We've had it with broccoli slaw and/or other cabbages when bok choy isn't available. They're all delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
My sister made this for Easter dinner and it was a big hit. She crushed the ramen noodles very small using a bag and hammer. Instead of using Bok Choy she used fresh spinach leaves. It is best to add the dressing mixture just before serving so keep the crispiness and freshness of the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hlmh23
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Received surplus co op Bok choy from my friend. I have never used it before. I wanted to really taste it instead of masking it with garlic and spices. LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe and my kids did as well! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
GREAT salad! Very versatile! I added 1/2 packet of the ramen noodle soup seasoning packet to the sugar before adding wet ingredients. Tossed in chicken and craisins. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Crunchy, delicious AND a great anti-inflammatory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe is very good! I have made the crunchy toppings to use on other types of tossed salad as well. This is an easy, nutritious way to consume bok choy! Julie Mairose, Rapid City SD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I made this pretty much as directed. I just added a little sesame oil to the dressing. I never had bok choy raw before, it was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Got this recipe from a friend who uses the same CSA as me several years ago. We make it almost every time we get bok choy (which is frequently). I tend to use recipes as polite suggestions, so I do make a fair number of changes, but it's mainly to reduce the calories and fat (less sugar and oil, little or no butter to saute the topping) and increase the vinegar (we like tangy). You do get a fair amount of dressing out of this - I just made it with perhaps one and a half times the indicated dressing to two large heads of bok choy. I also use only one package of Ramen and keep the topping in a little container as we usually get 3-4 (or more) salads out of one recipe of topping. I also think that the Ramen/almonds need more toasting than the sesame seeds, so I usually put the seeds in as soon as I see a smidge of color on the noodles. But, I keep the main flavor profile the same, which is why I rate this a 5. We've played with the recipe a bit too, and it always turns out well. Different vinegars work well (I've used apple cider, white wine, rice, or a mix of a few - all depends on how well the pantry is stocked at the time). Using part sesame oil is lovely. White/yellow/red onions sliced thin if you don't have any green are fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This salad was delicious! The combination of the crunchy ramen noodle mix with the sweet oil/vinegar/sugar dressing was a perfect combination. I did make one substitute. I had to use spring onions instead of green onions, and I threw them into the hot skillet after making the ramen noodle mix to cook them slightly. I like my onions slightly cooked as opposed to raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I used packaged cole slaw mix instead of bok choy, and sunflower seeds instead of sesame seeds. It was great! Next time I'll toss in some mandarin oranges as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States