Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I have the exact recipe for the rosettes given to me by my grandmother. I would like to add a few suggestions: If not all covered in hot lard or oil, patties will drop off mold. If eggs are beaten too light, blisters or bubbles will form with fat, making patties greasy. If patties are soft & not crisp, they were made to fast, cook alittle slower. If patties do not slip off the mold easily, put back in fryer, the dough is not cooked enough next to the mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
632 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I teach Norwegian cooking classes, so I thought I would add a few tips: flavoring: - you can substitute lemon extract for the vanilla Sugaring: - do not add sugar until you are ready to serve, they get soggier if they have sugar on them when stored. - some people prefer sugar, some powdered sugar, others sugar and cinnamon. If you use powdered sugar, use a sifter so it doesn't plop on, but goes on smoothly. - some people sugar the bottoms, other the tops. it does look a bit fancier if you flip them upside down and sugar them that way- (which is not the way it is pictured)- the sugar then catches to the edges and makes for more contrast in the color. I grew up doing it the way it is pictured here, but after you flip, you won't go back because they look so much better. If you are having trouble with rosettes, note the following: Soggy rosette? It should be fairly crisp as soon as it is slightly cool. Your fat may be too cool or you are not frying long enough. Also, make sure you aren't letting it cool on it's back. The oil needs to drain off the edges. Lots of blisters on your rosette? You over beat your eggs. Is the rosette is falling off iron while in in the oil? You aren't putting your iron deep enough into the oil. Add more oil to the fryer or place lower in fryer. But, don't hit the bottom, it will burn the rosette. Can’t get the rosette off the iron? Remove with a knife. You may have dipped it too deep in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Great recipe - tried it this past weekend. A bit bored with powdered sugar and found that I could Dip the cookies edges into melted chocolate then dipped into a plate of crushed macadamia nuts, made a most delightful cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaScott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I have to say with this recipe this was the closest I got to my mothers Rosettes which were the best! I did have a little trouble with the batter falling off the iorn, called my mother and immediately had an answer! Place a kitchen towel or napkins next to your hot oil pot or pan and after dipping the iorn into the hot oil, pat it flat onto the towel and then dip into the batter and sure enough no more fallen batter. I also like using my blender to blend both the sugar and cinnamon together and make it a little more softer for dusting at the end. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These were so delicious!!!! We did turn down the temperature on the oil to 365 instead, and we also didn't have to reheat the iron. That made the process go a lot faster. Please note, this is a very long process. Only take it on if you have a few hours to kill. Well worth it though, taste like funnel cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie 'Wilken' Epp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeeGirlBee
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
You can also dredge them(fronts and backs) in plain white sugar (with or without a little red decorating sugar added)...a few seconds after you allow them to drain on a paper towel. Another hint if an edge creeps over the top of the iron, making it difficult to come off. Tap on the top of the cookie/iron with a fork until it falls off. You will sacrifice a few getting them 'right' Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osmond, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The recipe is fine, but it makes WAY more than 30! I stupidly doubled it and had more than 100 when I gave up and dumped the remaining batter. Don't double unless you have all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The flavor of these rosettes is just what I remember growing up... Here are some of my notes, based on my experience making this particular recipe: 1. 375 degrees is WAY too hot!!! The rosettes are burned before you can get them off the iron. We found that 350 is about right. 2. Dip the iron in the batter and hold there for about 4 seconds, then let batter drip off slightly, then put iron into oil. 3. Hold iron under the oil for about 12 seconds; that way, dough will come off the iron easier. 4. Do sift flour; this will keep the batter smooth. However, you will need to add more flour to keep the batter from being too thin. (The recipe as written is much too thin – not enough sticks to the iron, and what does stick fries up too quickly.) 5. Be sure to stir batter every so often to keep it from getting too thick at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I received my grandmother's rosette iron a few years ago and have made these many times since. They are alot of work, but like most old fashioned recipes they are well worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just the right amount of sweetness. Another suggestion of you like them a little crispier...chill the batter in fridge for a couple hours. My next door neighbor has been making these every Christmas for 59 years and that was her advice to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States