Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I teach Norwegian cooking classes, so I thought I would add a few tips: flavoring: - you can substitute lemon extract for the vanilla Sugaring: - do not add sugar until you are ready to serve, they get soggier if they have sugar on them when stored. - some people prefer sugar, some powdered sugar, others sugar and cinnamon. If you use powdered sugar, use a sifter so it doesn't plop on, but goes on smoothly. - some people sugar the bottoms, other the tops. it does look a bit fancier if you flip them upside down and sugar them that way- (which is not the way it is pictured)- the sugar then catches to the edges and makes for more contrast in the color. I grew up doing it the way it is pictured here, but after you flip, you won't go back because they look so much better. If you are having trouble with rosettes, note the following: Soggy rosette? It should be fairly crisp as soon as it is slightly cool. Your fat may be too cool or you are not frying long enough. Also, make sure you aren't letting it cool on it's back. The oil needs to drain off the edges. Lots of blisters on your rosette? You over beat your eggs. Is the rosette is falling off iron while in in the oil? You aren't putting your iron deep enough into the oil. Add more oil to the fryer or place lower in fryer. But, don't hit the bottom, it will burn the rosette. Can’t get the rosette off the iron? Remove with a knife. You may have dipped it too deep in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Thank you, thank you, thank you! The only thing I got of my Grandmother's when she pasted away was her Rosette Iron set. I tried making them once about 10 years ago and it bombed! The irons have been sitting, unused, in my kitchen ever since. I found this recipe with all the tips given so I thought I'd give it another try and it worked! I was so excited! I wasn't ready for such a long process though, I must've missed that part. Biggest tip as another user gave was to make sure you have enough oil in the pan or they won't come off. The only bad thing about these is my house stunk of hot oil for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NAGELAM
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made them exactly like the recipe states. They were delish. People at the Superbowl party had never seen them before, but loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The recipe is fine, but it makes WAY more than 30! I stupidly doubled it and had more than 100 when I gave up and dumped the remaining batter. Don't double unless you have all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I received my grandmother's rosette iron a few years ago and have made these many times since. They are alot of work, but like most old fashioned recipes they are well worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe,Pat. I used to make these all the time at the holidays, but lost my recipe. I followed the recipe for half the rosettes, and then I added more sugar and some cinnamon to the batter, and they were delish too. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I have the exact recipe for the rosettes given to me by my grandmother. I would like to add a few suggestions: If not all covered in hot lard or oil, patties will drop off mold. If eggs are beaten too light, blisters or bubbles will form with fat, making patties greasy. If patties are soft & not crisp, they were made to fast, cook alittle slower. If patties do not slip off the mold easily, put back in fryer, the dough is not cooked enough next to the mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
588 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeeGirlBee
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
You can also dredge them(fronts and backs) in plain white sugar (with or without a little red decorating sugar added)...a few seconds after you allow them to drain on a paper towel. Another hint if an edge creeps over the top of the iron, making it difficult to come off. Tap on the top of the cookie/iron with a fork until it falls off. You will sacrifice a few getting them 'right' Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osmond, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Great recipe - tried it this past weekend. A bit bored with powdered sugar and found that I could Dip the cookies edges into melted chocolate then dipped into a plate of crushed macadamia nuts, made a most delightful cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaScott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maplesquirrel
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This was a awesome recipe! It tasted great, and bubbled beautifully! My family loved them! They were good sprinkled with powdered sugar or cinnamon and sugar. The only thing that limited the eating of too many, was that they were greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maplesquirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States