Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was the first time I ever made rosette cookies, they turned out perfect, but the taste was terrible, I followed the recipe exactly too, they were very bland and not at all sweet, will definately look for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My aunt and I use the exact same recipe tomake our rosettes! We do the christmas tree every December, and make a ton to give out to family and friends. What we do with the podered sugar is frost the upsid edown part. We make a frosting with powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and milk. We add a bit of green food coloring to that. When our cookies are 'dry', we dip the back part, and then sprinkle them with powdered sugar. It looks really cute, green trees with snow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
5 stars I have made this for years and this is by far the best recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made Rosettes for the fist time last week... I purchased an iron and found this recipe... I over beat my eggs, because I had some blisters, but they were great anyway. I can't wait to try the timbales for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just the right amount of sweetness. Another suggestion of you like them a little crispier...chill the batter in fridge for a couple hours. My next door neighbor has been making these every Christmas for 59 years and that was her advice to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was my cookie exchange choice this year. I had fun making them. I appreciate all the comments - they helped with the process. I dusted mine with powdered sugar & packed them up. I'm hopeful that they don't get soggy ( as one comment said). I used an electric frypan to cook them. I'll experiment with flavors next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Using evaporated milk is my version. 1/2 cup and 1/2 water (selzter water for lighter rosettes) 1/2 tsp. sugar 1/2 tsp. vanilla 1 egg 1 cup flour Use a whisk to whip all ingredients together. Only use lard to fry in. When rosettes are cooled, used various jellies, apricot, strawberry, blueberry, etc. and put a bit in center of rosette, than sift powdered sugar over rosette. To store, put in container but do not cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe is perfect as it is. It's just as I remembered when I made them with my children. I made them with almond extract instead as I was out of vanilla and they are great. As mentioned in an earlier review, they are even more attractive when dipped in powdered sugar from the opposite side as pictured. I just did this for the first time, and it really enhances the lacey look much better. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
As a long time rosette maker, when the kids were little, I would give them small paintbrushes and make thin poiwdered sugar frosting in different colors, and let them paint the edges of the rosettes, [when you turn them upside down]. Sometimes they would just use thin white frosting, and while still wet, dip them in colored sprinkles. Very pretty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Exceptionally tasty and easy. I have never had luck with rosettes until now. It was a special snack for after school. I did use a thermometer to gauge oil temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States