Rosettes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My batter kept falling off the iron into the bowl of batter. I read a few reviews and realized my batter was too thick so I added a little liquid and BOOM problem solved. My kids loved them! Oh, and I used almond extract instead of vanilla. Next time I'll try anise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Topping alternative: Turn the rosettes on their underside, drizzle HONEY on them (warm it up in the microwave for 15 seconds, easier to drizzle), add finely diced WALNUTS (you can buy these diced for you) and sprinkle with a little bit of CINNAMON! I make mine slightly different. I don't use sugar, and I don't use the salt under the ingredients (but I will try in the future). Also, the 2 eggs should be lightly beaten. To cook, I use Crisco Vegetable Shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The flavor of these rosettes is just what I remember growing up... Here are some of my notes, based on my experience making this particular recipe: 1. 375 degrees is WAY too hot!!! The rosettes are burned before you can get them off the iron. We found that 350 is about right. 2. Dip the iron in the batter and hold there for about 4 seconds, then let batter drip off slightly, then put iron into oil. 3. Hold iron under the oil for about 12 seconds; that way, dough will come off the iron easier. 4. Do sift flour; this will keep the batter smooth. However, you will need to add more flour to keep the batter from being too thin. (The recipe as written is much too thin – not enough sticks to the iron, and what does stick fries up too quickly.) 5. Be sure to stir batter every so often to keep it from getting too thick at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
If done correctly, these are the best cookies you'll ever eat but man, are they a lot of work! I use an electric skillet because your oil has to be the right temp. 350 is perfect, 375 is too hot. Be sure to heat the iron (I use a double so I can do two at once) with the oil. When you dip it into the batter, it should sizzle. Your first rosette will NOT turn out. Simply redip and the old batter should come off with the new rosette. As soon as you put the iron in the oil, shake lightly up and down, and the rosette should come right off. The put the iron back in the oil to keep it hot, it should sizzle when you dip it in the batter. Finally, if your cookies come out too greasy, put them in the oven for just a minute or two and that will help. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My family has made this cookie since I was a little girl. We do one thing different in regards to the topping. Chocolate. Drizzled with a little bit of melted chocolate (white, milk, or dark) and you'll have a hard time eating just one or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
have made these cookies for 20 years and to help get over the greasy taste I put 1 tsp vinegar into the lard as its heating be careful!! these never have a greasy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was the first time I ever made rosette cookies, they turned out perfect, but the taste was terrible, I followed the recipe exactly too, they were very bland and not at all sweet, will definately look for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTENES18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My aunt and I use the exact same recipe tomake our rosettes! We do the christmas tree every December, and make a ton to give out to family and friends. What we do with the podered sugar is frost the upsid edown part. We make a frosting with powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and milk. We add a bit of green food coloring to that. When our cookies are 'dry', we dip the back part, and then sprinkle them with powdered sugar. It looks really cute, green trees with snow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
5 stars I have made this for years and this is by far the best recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made Rosettes for the fist time last week... I purchased an iron and found this recipe... I over beat my eggs, because I had some blisters, but they were great anyway. I can't wait to try the timbales for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosettes I

These traditional deep-fried treats turn batter into holiday gold.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States