Rosemary and Peppercorn Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is a typical Old French recipe but pound the breast before you season and remember to crack pepper corns fast use the bottom of a small skillet and roll it across the peppercorns for consistant cracking. Also to make your sauce thicker reduce the 35% cream by SIMMERING it for about 8 minutes and add 2 minutes for each stage thicker. also be aware that you can add other seasonings for extra flavours, ie. lemon, sage, thyme and add fresh mushrooms to the sauce, but 1rst saute them slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Little Current, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Very proud to be the first person to review this recipe. I made the chicken ala cream recipe (see reviews) and decided to go ahead and make this one since they were very similar. Very, very good and I have decided to serve this at my Italian wine tasting party next week. It went very well with some Italian wines I opened tonight -- think it must have been the rosemary flavor, which is dominant. It was great to finally have a recipe where I could use my pink and green peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Yum! I made a few modifications to make it a little healthier and it is delicious! I cooked the chicken in a skillet that I sprayed with a little butter flavored cooking spray, no butter. When I removed the chicken, I melted 1 tablespoon reduced fat butter in the skillet and added a little bit of flour to make a roux (sp???). To this I added 1 cup skim milk, the garlic, and fresh rosemary. After it had cooked down I added some chicken broth (I let the liquid get too low) and cooked it down a little more. Served the chicken and sauce over white rice with steamed broccoli - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
So, so, so rich -- and full of flavor, too. I bought mixed peppercorns in a grinder (very cheap), which has pink, green, black and white. I substituted half-and-half for the heavy cream, and also reduced the amount of butter and cream per a previous reviewer. There was still enough sauce to cover the chicken. This is very easy and quick, and would probably impress your guests. I'll make this again. Thank you, GS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This dish is absolutely delicious and SO simple!!! My family loved it -- we'll definitely be making it again soon. The only thing I would change (and this is just my personal preference) is to decrease the butter and cream a little. When I doubled the recipe, two cups of cream made more than enough of the delicious sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is delicious. I had only black peppercorns; it wasn't a problem. The taste and texture of the dish is wonderful. I prepared it as written, but may try to cut back on some of the fat content if I make it again. But it's a lovely dish as written and if you're not concerned about the calories, try it. This is a classic preparation (heavy cream, garlic) but the peppercorns and rosemary are a nice variation on the theme. A nice "company" dish as well as a quick mid-week treat for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I loved the creamy herb sauce, but found the peppercorns a hair too spicy for my taste. (My husband loved it.) However, I'm still giving it a 5 because it was easy to knock off some peppercorns to reduce the spice, and this was both quick and easy and elegant, which is rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
My family love this recipe, I however found it a bit too peppery for my taste. I bought a pepper grinder with all the peppercorn colours and just gound it on the breast. I will definately make again but with less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I didn't have pink or green peppercorns so cut the amount to 1/3 & used 2 tbps mixed peppercorns. Even then it was WAY too peppery and my husband couldn't eat it. The sauce was good - I used 35% cream, cut the butter in half, and added lemon, sage, thyme & sliced fresh mushrooms as per a previous reviewer's suggestion. If I make this again I would simply pepper both sides of the chicken well using my pepper mill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was very good, and very quick and easy to make. I thought the sauce was a little thin but that's an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States