Rosemary and Peppercorn Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Very proud to be the first person to review this recipe. I made the chicken ala cream recipe (see reviews) and decided to go ahead and make this one since they were very similar. Very, very good and I have decided to serve this at my Italian wine tasting party next week. It went very well with some Italian wines I opened tonight -- think it must have been the rosemary flavor, which is dominant. It was great to finally have a recipe where I could use my pink and green peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This dish is absolutely delicious and SO simple!!! My family loved it -- we'll definitely be making it again soon. The only thing I would change (and this is just my personal preference) is to decrease the butter and cream a little. When I doubled the recipe, two cups of cream made more than enough of the delicious sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This is a quick and easy recipe! I've tried a slight variation by grinding a generous amount of peppercorn onto thin chicken cutlets and the result is just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
So, so, so rich -- and full of flavor, too. I bought mixed peppercorns in a grinder (very cheap), which has pink, green, black and white. I substituted half-and-half for the heavy cream, and also reduced the amount of butter and cream per a previous reviewer. There was still enough sauce to cover the chicken. This is very easy and quick, and would probably impress your guests. I'll make this again. Thank you, GS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I loved the creamy herb sauce, but found the peppercorns a hair too spicy for my taste. (My husband loved it.) However, I'm still giving it a 5 because it was easy to knock off some peppercorns to reduce the spice, and this was both quick and easy and elegant, which is rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This wasn't so good. It was very lacking in flavour. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was very good, and very quick and easy to make. I thought the sauce was a little thin but that's an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is a typical Old French recipe but pound the breast before you season and remember to crack pepper corns fast use the bottom of a small skillet and roll it across the peppercorns for consistant cracking. Also to make your sauce thicker reduce the 35% cream by SIMMERING it for about 8 minutes and add 2 minutes for each stage thicker. also be aware that you can add other seasonings for extra flavours, ie. lemon, sage, thyme and add fresh mushrooms to the sauce, but 1rst saute them slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Little Current, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is delicious. I had only black peppercorns; it wasn't a problem. The taste and texture of the dish is wonderful. I prepared it as written, but may try to cut back on some of the fat content if I make it again. But it's a lovely dish as written and if you're not concerned about the calories, try it. This is a classic preparation (heavy cream, garlic) but the peppercorns and rosemary are a nice variation on the theme. A nice "company" dish as well as a quick mid-week treat for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I made this last night, I found it somewhat bland, I added a fresh sage leave and a sprig of rosemary to the sauce and simmered a bit longer, it helped but..... This recipe just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otterburn Park, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States