Rosemary and Peppercorn Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Delicious! The first time I made it I got the peppercorns according to the recipe, and it was terrific. The next time I got a 4-peppercorn blend from the grocery store (which was a little cheaper than the pink and green peppercorns) and we actually liked it a bit better. I also added a bit of white wine to the sauce, which was nice. A quick recipe with impressive results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I didn't have pink or green peppercorns so cut the amount to 1/3 & used 2 tbps mixed peppercorns. Even then it was WAY too peppery and my husband couldn't eat it. The sauce was good - I used 35% cream, cut the butter in half, and added lemon, sage, thyme & sliced fresh mushrooms as per a previous reviewer's suggestion. If I make this again I would simply pepper both sides of the chicken well using my pepper mill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Yum! I made a few modifications to make it a little healthier and it is delicious! I cooked the chicken in a skillet that I sprayed with a little butter flavored cooking spray, no butter. When I removed the chicken, I melted 1 tablespoon reduced fat butter in the skillet and added a little bit of flour to make a roux (sp???). To this I added 1 cup skim milk, the garlic, and fresh rosemary. After it had cooked down I added some chicken broth (I let the liquid get too low) and cooked it down a little more. Served the chicken and sauce over white rice with steamed broccoli - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very easy and quick, especially if you're a working mom. Looks like you spent a lot of time. It was bland as other reviewers mentioned so I would add a little salt. Also decreased butter by half. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
this was delicious, i'd make it again. next time i'm going to add a little flour, though. i prefer a slightly thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was good but a bit too spicy for me. I would make this again with less pepper. I used black pepper as I did not have green or pink. I used 1% milk in place of the heavy cream to cut down on the fat. I thickened the sauce a little by adding 1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch mixed with a little milk. I think next time I make this (with less pepper) I will cook the chicken in the oven and use only half the butter in the sauce to cut down on the fat some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I made this last night, I found it somewhat bland, I added a fresh sage leave and a sprig of rosemary to the sauce and simmered a bit longer, it helped but..... This recipe just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otterburn Park, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is delicious. I had only black peppercorns; it wasn't a problem. The taste and texture of the dish is wonderful. I prepared it as written, but may try to cut back on some of the fat content if I make it again. But it's a lovely dish as written and if you're not concerned about the calories, try it. This is a classic preparation (heavy cream, garlic) but the peppercorns and rosemary are a nice variation on the theme. A nice "company" dish as well as a quick mid-week treat for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is a typical Old French recipe but pound the breast before you season and remember to crack pepper corns fast use the bottom of a small skillet and roll it across the peppercorns for consistant cracking. Also to make your sauce thicker reduce the 35% cream by SIMMERING it for about 8 minutes and add 2 minutes for each stage thicker. also be aware that you can add other seasonings for extra flavours, ie. lemon, sage, thyme and add fresh mushrooms to the sauce, but 1rst saute them slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Little Current, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was very good, and very quick and easy to make. I thought the sauce was a little thin but that's an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States