Rosemary Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a decent meatloaf recipe, although I found the sauce too sweet even after cutting the brown sugar in half. Next time, I would probably use pasta sauce out of a jar, which has a more rounded taste. Chopped onions can taste a bit raw even after an hour in the oven, so I would suggest cutting them as small as possible or sauteeing them first before combining with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was a good recipe. I thought that the vinegar was a little overpowering so next time I will cut it in half. The fresh rosemary was wonderful. It was very flavorful and aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
So healthy and tasty. Using fresh rosemary is crucial to get the best flavor in the final dish. Excellent meatloaf, even for those that usually dislike it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This turkey meatloaf is delicious! I doubled the fresh rosemary and also added 2 TBS chopped fresh parsley that I had on hand. I used Italian breadcrumbs instead of plain. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seminole, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Followed this to the letter when I should have done what my gut said to. I would recommend half the breadcrumbs, only a quarter cup of balsamic vinegar, add a quarter cup of Worcestershire's sauce, skip the milk and the egg all together. Half the sauce and you could use honey instead of brown sugar. Over all I found this recipe disappointing and the next time I think about making turkey meatloaf I will use my beef recipe (but substitute the turkey)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvs1981

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I learned from all of you! I made some modifications to the recipe and it came out a 'five.' First of all, I skipped the milk entirely, and I only used 2 teaspoons of rosemary. For the topping I only used one third cup of brown sugar. It came out NOT mushy, but not too firm, and the topping was only moderately sweet, certainly not as disgusting as other people have described it. The rosemary taste was quite noticeable, but not in any way overwhelming. I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was not good. After one bite, my children wouldn't touch it, my husband didn't like it, even my dad who will eat anything didn't like it. I didn't make the sauce, but I don't think it would have made a difference. The rosemary was overpowering, and 2 cups of breadcrumbs are too many. It was moist in the middle, for which I'm giving it the 2 stars, but the outside was very dry. We gave the leftovers to the dog. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was a real disappointment. I love meatloaf, particularly turkey meatloaf as it tends to be less greasy. This recipe, however was definitely an exception. It was mushy instead of moist. The balsamic vinegar was a nice touch, but it was completely overwhelmed by the painfully sweet suace over the top. Perhaps with a lot of tweaking, this recipe could be improved, but I will not be making it again "as is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I just made this recipe last week and with a few changes I'd probably make it again. The glaze was just a little too sweet for meatloaf I think. I'd cut down on the sugar in the glaze, and add something else to the loaf itself; maybe celery. This was only the second time I made meatloaf but the results wasn't bad. I might even mix ground sirloin with the turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is one of those recipes you will either love or hate. It is really different----but, I loved it! Great use for ground turkey--which can end up bland in some recipes. LOVED the use of fresh rosemary. I made a few changes---I used 2 lbs. of ground turkey (just because I had it), & only 1/2 cup milk & 1 cup Italian Bread Crumbs & 1 cup plain bread. By accident forgot to add the balsamic vinegar! I'll have to try it next time,---now I'm curious if it will be just as good with it. Per previous reviews I halved the amount of topping. I'm glad I did, because I thought it was just sweet enough. However, I read the amount wrong on the Tomato Sauce and only ended up adding 1T. with the brown sugar & dijon---I'll do the same next time because I was happy with the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States