Rosemary Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this for dinner and I loved it but my husband thought it was too sweet. I will try making it again but will do as other suggested and cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup in the sauce. I will also try bake it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I have had different brands/kinds of ground turkey, so I think part of the mushiness came from the kind of turkey. I have no idea why this calls for so much bread crumbs--I thought the flavor was very good except for the overwhelming taste of bread! I would cut back--maybe even halve them--on a lot of the ingredients--milk, (I liked the vinegar), bread crumbs, brown sugar, and maybe even the onion (I really like onion, but it was a lot). I might try this again with those changes and then toss it if it doesn't turn out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was great. My husband said it was like eating candy. I did add green and red peppers because I had a frozen mix with onions. I didn't have any tomato sauce but had tomato paste so I add water to the paste. I also used Splendia brown sugar. It was great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Best meatloaf I've had in awhile. I changed the recipe up a bit like other posters. Substitutions: 1 C bread crumbs, 1/2 C milk, 1/4 C worcestire- all other ingredients the same. I also inverted the loaf pan after forming meat mixture and baked it on a cookie sheet (spray the sheet-I didn't)at 375 for about an hour. I like that the topping covers all sides. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I attempted this recipe last night. Unfortunately, it turned out to be a soupy mess in the pan. The meatloaf was positively swimming from all of the liquid. If I tried it again, I would cut back on the volume of milk and balsamic vinegar to avoid meatloaf soup. In addition, I only used 2/3 of the tomato sauce mixture for the top, and I think that was even too much. Maybe diced tomatoes with a bit of liqued would be better as a base for the topping. However, I can say that I liked the bold flavor with the rosemary and the dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Too bland for my taste. Just can't seem to find and flavorful ground turkey recipes. Probably just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
this was decent, however, I cut back on some of the ingredients, and omitted others. I dropped the milk, used just a 1/4 cup of the vinegar, 1/2 cup of fine breadcrumb, and 1/2 cup of rolled oats. 2 cups of either would have been far too much! with the cup of milk and the full portion of vinegar it definately would have been mushy! I also added a second egg. It seemed to stay together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe but did modify it to reduce carbs, sodium & calories. After my first cooking I will reduce the amount of liquid in it. Ended up pouring off at least a cup. So I'm thinking there is no real need for the cup of milk, though I'm sure the amount of vinegar can be reduced a bit. This is the ingredients I used to slightly modify this original recipe. 1 1/2 pounds Ground Turkey Breast - Jennie-O All Natural Extra Lean 2 cups - 4 slices of fresh bread crumbs, Sugar Free Bread, 100% Whole Wheat by: Pepperidge Farm 1 cup onion, chopped 1/4 cup egg substitute 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar (might back to 1/4 cup) 1 clove garlic, minced 1 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon pepper 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I just "eyeballed" the measurements for these ingredients, so I'm not sure exactly how much of everything I put in. I just kept mixing until it felt like the right consistency to me. I also realized as I was mixing up the topping sauce that I didn't have any brown sugar! I just omitted it alltogether and it came out fine-- in fact I think it would have been too sweet with the sugar. The balsamic adds enough sweetness for my taste. Great aromas while this was cooking-- perfect for a cozy evening. The only reason I'm giving it a 4/5 instead of 5/5 is because it didn't blow my mind or anything. Sure, great for a meatloaf, but I reserve the 5/5 for things that rock my world. I'd give it a 4.5 out of 5 if I could, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States