Rosemary Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Holy cow... Don't just sit there!! Go snip some rosemary (and don't even THINK about using the dried stuff) and make these cookies! They are fantastic. I ate half a dozen while baking these and I still can't keep my hands off of them! The size of this tasty little cookie is perfect, the sweetness is perfect, the rosemary flavor is perfect, the crisp is perfect... What a divine addition to our holiday cookie tray. Thank you SO much for this recipe. It is a new favorite in our house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was torn between this recipe and another rosemary recipe here, so I made mini-batches of both, baked them in the toaster oven, and compared them. Although my family seemed to like the other recipe better, I definitely appreciate that these have more of a "cookielike" texture. They are also quite hearty, and not too sweet, but sweeter than the other batch I made. Thanks, sueb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very tastey little cookie! I love it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Okay, I'm not sure why I always think I can slice cookies bc I clearly can't. Every time I try a sliced cookie recipe, the slices always end up looking like little malformed blocks of dough, so I end up rolling the pieces up and flattening them out into little discs, and they always end up less flat than they're supposed to. This time was no exception for me--don't know what my malfunction is, but obviously it's there. So I ended up baking for about 18-20 minutes and they were little cookies with little muffin type tops. These are a sweet cookie, not savory at all, with a punch of rosemary. They are okay by themselves but better with tea. These were fun to make (minus my inability to roll and slice)--maybe one of htese days I will learn how to cut cookie slices and revisit slicing these little cookies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
The only thing I would change about this recipe is cutting the amount of sugar down to 1/2 C. They were really good but so sweet they made my teeth cry! Also, i would put the slices back in the freezer for about 20 min while the oven is preheating, so that they hold their shape better while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belladonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These bake up beautifully! I have now made 2 batches and have a request for a 3rd batch before next weekend. I used dry rosemary, which I ground until almost a powder so there are no hard spikey bits. The flavor comes through without being overwhelming. They are a lovely delicate treat with a cup of tea. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Rosemary is one of my favorite herbs. I have a plant growing in my kitchen and couldn't wait to try this recipe. These are wonderful! They're light, crispy, and delicious. I think I expected a more savory finished product, but these are a sweet treat (not overly sweet, just right.) I will definitely be making these again - the next time my plant goes out of control. Thanks for a great new use for Rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
What an interesting cookie. Followed the recipe as written and thought it was good. You really have to have tea or coffee with this cookie. One of my daughters took a bite and wouldn't have another. I froze one log for about a week and didn't taste as good as the first batch, so I wouldn't recommend freezing any portion of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent cokies! I love rosemary so I had to try this. Easy to make but I only got 30 cokies not 60 like the recipe states, but maybe is because I like my cookies on the thick side they would have been like discs if had cut them thiner.Thanks for sumitting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
These were wonderful! A nice change for a cookie. My children loved them. If you are looking for a good way to cut the logs, then try using a super sharp knife and rotate your log about an 1/8 inch after each cut. I like to use dental floss. Just slide your floss under your log where you are going to cut and wrap the floss up and around the log, cross the floss at the top and pull each end till it cuts your cookie off. You get a perfect shape each time. If you use the floss be sure not to freeze your dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States