Rosemary Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These cookies are AMAZING! I had to be very careful not to eat them all in one sitting. They are sweet, but not too sweet. If you love rosemary, (which I do), you must try these cookies. I've been trying many recipes with rosemary latley; bread, potatoes and the like. They are all very good, but the cookies are my favorite so far. They are a very grown-up cookie, so most kids probably won't like them. But as for me, I now have a new favorite cookie, and I don't think I will find one that tops this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kittyolson
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These cookies are simply delicious, I made them to use up some fresh rosemary I had, and I'm glad I did. I added lemon juice as suggested by previous reviewers and I used the roll into a ball and press flat method, and let them bake for just 7 minutes. They turned out great, and I will definitely make these again. I also put up a photo of my finished cookies... enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Excellent. I kept the dough in the fridge for 2 hours and made heaping tsp balls and then flattened them. Very delicious, I am foregoing all the other cookie recipes I had lined up and am baking dozens of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KFSonshine
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Oh my goodness, so good! I had some rosemary to use up and did a double take when I found this recipe. My dough was really crumbly, so I rolled it out with a rolling pin and cut it into rectangles with a knife. The cookies were buttery and light and the rosemary added a delicious twist. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The rosemary flavor in these cookies was wonderful, but I added more than the recommended amount of butter and they were still very dry. If I try to make these again, I will probably add a little extra oil so they don't get quite so dry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are delicious! I had to add 2-3 extra tbsps butter, though, to get to the right consistency. Otherwise the dough was too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I cut the butter down to only 1 c. -which made the dough very crumbly, but the cookies turned out fantastic. My friends and I literally devoured them in one sitting. I agree that the concept of rosemary in a cookie sounds slightly odd, but it adds such a great delicate flavor. I also added two teaspoons of lemon juice, which gave the cookies a refreshing kick. I will be making this several times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
You can also make these using lavender. Oddly enough, they taste somewhat like rosemary. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
The only thing I changed about this recipe was the prep before it went into the oven. I hand rolled small balls of dough (about 1 T each) and slightly flattened them into 1/4 inch thick discs on the baking sheets, then popped them in the fridge for about 30 minutes. With a butter-heavy dough like this, I knew that the dough would have to be very chilled and firm before being cooked so they would maintain their shape and not flatten out - good shortbread is thick and flaky! Everyone LOVED these cookies and I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I've had a small rosemary tree in my kitchen as a Christmas decoration and I happened upon this recipe. The rest is history. This cookie will now become a prized addition to my repertoire. It's lovely. I added some lemon rind to half the batch so I could try both rosemary shortbread and lemon rosemary shortbread. Both were good, but I like the lemon the best. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States