Rosemary Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
So very wonderful - Thank YOu for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I have had a favorite cookie recipe since I was a child, but yesterday me and my girls made these cookies and that once favorite cookie has been replaced by these cookies. My best tip is DO NOT OVERBAKE. Don't wait for the edges to get too brown. We liked them on the much paler side. So beautiful, unique, and if you love rosemary and shortbread, so perfect!!!! I made another kind of cookie after this and though I am sure the cookie was absolutely fab it greatly paled in comparison to these. It is refreshing to try something different and these are a pleaser! Do not change the recipe at all because it is perfect. Although I must confess, over time, I would like to expirement with a few other herbs. A good cookie if you want to impress or have friends for a tea party. I felt like the workds best cookie maker when I made these! Approved by kids dads grandpas and moms and soon to be grandmas I am sure. Something I notice with these that was unlike cookies I have had in the past, I could taste each seperate taste individually-butter, salt, rosemary and a some sugar sweetness, and then I could taste them together at the same time. That, to me, was kind of interesting. Also they are very rich! I can eat cookies, believe me, but I can only eat 1 or 2 of these at a time, and trust me, that's fine. Like good dark chocolate, just a little is enough to satisfy because the quality is so good. I got 48 round cookie from this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I really, really like these cookies! I rolled them into a log shape and placed them in plastic wrap before refrigerating them. Once chilled I sliced them, sprinkled sugar on them and baked them. They are Fabulous!!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
very good. my family loved the herb taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
You can also make these using lavender. Oddly enough, they taste somewhat like rosemary. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Note: This recipe was originally published with an incorrect amount for the butter. We have corrected the amount to 1 1/2 cups. This will solve the problem mentioned in the previous review. We apologize for the error! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I've had a small rosemary tree in my kitchen as a Christmas decoration and I happened upon this recipe. The rest is history. This cookie will now become a prized addition to my repertoire. It's lovely. I added some lemon rind to half the batch so I could try both rosemary shortbread and lemon rosemary shortbread. Both were good, but I like the lemon the best. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Yum! I took a chance with these because I wasn't sure about herb cookies, but I was not disappointed at all. Make sure to use fresh Rosemary...so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyohtani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
The only thing I changed about this recipe was the prep before it went into the oven. I hand rolled small balls of dough (about 1 T each) and slightly flattened them into 1/4 inch thick discs on the baking sheets, then popped them in the fridge for about 30 minutes. With a butter-heavy dough like this, I knew that the dough would have to be very chilled and firm before being cooked so they would maintain their shape and not flatten out - good shortbread is thick and flaky! Everyone LOVED these cookies and I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KFSonshine
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Oh my goodness, so good! I had some rosemary to use up and did a double take when I found this recipe. My dough was really crumbly, so I rolled it out with a rolling pin and cut it into rectangles with a knife. The cookies were buttery and light and the rosemary added a delicious twist. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States