Rosemary Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Excellent, will definitely make again. I added lemon zest, and I think that without the lemon it would have lacked character. But together it was a zingy, crumbly delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I imagine they are better the third or fourth day, but it was all we could do to wait till the second day to eat them. They were great the first day, even better the second. I rolled the dough into logs before refrigerating and sliced into 1/4 inch slices, then baked until just lightly browned. Watch them closely, they are so much better if not over-baked. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These are a huge hit evertime I make them. The only thing I do differently is roll the dough into a log and slice it up to make round cookies. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Hands down one of my favorite cookies to make. Because I'm lazy, I roll the dough into a log and freeze it. That way I can keep it handy quick cookies by slicing them. My one comment - USE A REALLY GOOD COOKIE SHEET. The thin aluminum sheets can cause the bottoms to get too brown, even with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Whitley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very nice. I used pumpkin cookie cutters to add a festive touch. Unusual, but quite tasty- thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I'd never made shortbread before, and I thought these cookies were very tasty. The dough is definitely easier to roll if it warms up a bit after chilling in the fridge. I experimented with using a small cookie cutter (1 by 1.5 inches) and cutting the dough into larger shapes, and the small cookies came out better -- they browned more evenly. I also iced the cookies with a simple lemon glaze, but next time I'll leave them plain, or just add fresh lemon zest to the dough. As the recipe writer says, the cookies taste even better after a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Delicious crispy, buttery sweetness with a hint of rosemary. These are a delicious and different cookie. I found the dough rolled better when it wasn't quite as cold. Flour the surface you're rolling them on and flour the rolling pin. Turn the dough over and re-flour several times when you're beginning to roll them out, and you shouldn't have any problem. I used a cookie cutter, but they would be even faster to make if you just cut them into rectangles as directed. Each year I like to try new cookie recipes for Christmas as well as the old standbys, and this will be one of my new ones this year, topped with green tinted sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Interesting recipe, the flavor grows on you as time goes on. Had to use dried rosemary (2 tsps), will have to try fresh next time. Pretty easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Holy Goodness! These are off the charts! I am so happy I found this recipe. Followed recipe exact - but, forgot the salt. No matter, as these are divine. I liked the suggestion from artychoke who rolled the dough into a log, chilled and sliced. Mine needed longer than an hour to be really chilled and firm. Definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These cookies are AMAZING! I had to be very careful not to eat them all in one sitting. They are sweet, but not too sweet. If you love rosemary, (which I do), you must try these cookies. I've been trying many recipes with rosemary latley; bread, potatoes and the like. They are all very good, but the cookies are my favorite so far. They are a very grown-up cookie, so most kids probably won't like them. But as for me, I now have a new favorite cookie, and I don't think I will find one that tops this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States