Rosemary Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made these for a meeting. Only adults where there. Everyone loved them. A great cookie for adults. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I rolled them out and used a leaf cookie cutter. Perfect for the cool fall nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina McMahon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe as it is posted, with the exception of the rosemary (I excluded that ingredient). Oh, I also add a small amount of Almond Extract :) I found the batter/dough easy to work with whether you are using a cookie cutter or just taking a scoop and flattening them out. This is a great recipe, it easy to make, and you'll get great results. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These are delicious and very popular. I followed the recipe exactly, but like many, opted to roll the dough into logs and wrap them in saran wrap before chilling. Then I sliced them to about 1/4 inch thickness and left off the decorative sugar because I like the texture of shortbread on its own. They were ready in 11 minutes in my oven. You should take them out when they're golden brown on the bottom and white but dry on top. The texture of these cookies is awesome; they're slightly soft as opposed to crunchy, which is exactly what I was looking for. I've tried them with lavender and lemon also, but I prefer the rosemary personally. To anyone having trouble mixing the dough, just keep at it, and don't be afraid to mush it up with your hands if the spoon isn't doing the trick. Eventually it will reach a good soft dough consistency. You should also start with butter that's softened to room temperature. I tried to rush it with cool butter once and it was very hard to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
great with the rosemary. I also tried them with Herbs de Provence and chopped up candied ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I ran out of white flour, so I had to sub about 1/2 white whole wheat, but I didn't actually think it adversely affected the flavor, just found that they needed to bake 13 min to get lightly browned. I found the cookies a little too subtle. I did a trial batch where I sprinkled small amts of coarse salt on top and that just gave the cookies an extra POP. not too salty either. I def will repeat these cookies with all white flour but every batch will have coarse salt on top. try a few, you'll be glad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very nice! Followed the recipe to a t. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I made these over Christmas, and they were great. A lot of people really liked them. I want to try making them with different herbs. Maybe lavender or lemon balm. The flavor really did improve after a few days. I followed the recipe, except I rolled it into a log, refrigerated if for a few hours, and cut the log into 1/4 inch slices. This is much easier than taking out the rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I have never put a review on allrecipes until I made these cookies! I had an overabundance of fresh rosemary from my garden and was desperate to use it up. I figured that if these cookies weren't good (Ok, so I had an opinion before I made them), I would throw them away. THESE ARE AWESOME!!! The rosemary isn't overpowering like I thought they would be. Very surprising and delicious. Btw, don't alter the recipe because it is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Really good. Can't go wrong with shortbread. I did make a few adjustments: used 1 tbsp of fresh rosemary (all I had on-hand), the zest of 1 lemon, and subbed 3/4 of the AP flour with whole wheat. Delish. My manager loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very nice, delicately flavored cookies. The only thing I did differently was to use a small cookie cutter on them, just to make them a little more festive. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States