Rosemary Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This is one of the best cookie recipes I've found! The only thing I did differently is, I made a glaze with some fresh lemon juice and confectioner's sugar and lightly spread over the top of each cookie. It's such a unique recipe; everyone that I've shared the cookies with was trepidatious at first, but raced about them after they tried them. ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Absolutely delicious! A shortbread is my favorite type of cookie; add rosemary and I'm in heaven! The cookies have a perfect balance of flavors with a few simple ingredients; and they smell divine! I found the dough extremely easy to work with as long as you chill it for an hour as instructed before trying to roll it out. For those who had issues with the dough, maybe the following will help. DO use a good quality UNsalted butter, as called for in the recipe, for two reasons: 1) salted butter has a higher water content (and thus lower fat content) than unsalted which can defininitely affect baked goods, especially cookies and 2) unsalted butter allows for more adjustment to the salt in a recipe as different brands of salted butters can have different (and unknown) amounts of salt. I feel like the amount of salt in this recipe, coupled with unsalted butter is perfect; but that's a very subjective opinion - others may prefer less salt flavor. When measuring flour it's important to spoon it into the measuring cup lightly and level it; otherwise you can wind up with too much flour since flour "settles" a great deal. When I creamed the butter and sugar together I did so for 6 minutes at medium speed on a KitchenAid mixer in order to get it to the right consistency, then slowly added the flour (already mixed with salt and rosemary) in several small amounts on "stir" just until mixed. Hope this might help anyone who had trouble with the dough. These cookies are too good to miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alligator, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I had a problem with the dough not having enough fat in it. It was crumbly and did not hold together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Made exactly as written. My 8 year old son loves them. I'm pretty impressed. It's the kind if cookie you won't eat twenty at a time but will crave a couple during the day. I can't wait to share with friends. I also felt very "sophisticated and provincial" while making them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Damman Erks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
LOVED this recipe! I pressed the batter into a 8"x11" baking pan. After removing from the oven, I cut into bars in the pan. After they cooled, I cut through the same lines again. Then removed the bars and served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The reviews are right, this recipe is easy and the result is delicate cookies. Use the BEST (85% btr fat) butter you can find since it's a big part of this recipe and you want lots of crisp. I simply mixed everything in the stand mixer with the whisk then the paddle for the flour addition. Easy peezy rolling, put not hardened all the way dough between two sheets of parchment then roll to your thickness,put on a cookie sheet then back to the fridge until you feel like cutting them. I use Maldon sea salt flakes, more delicate salt than kosher(you'll increase the salt by a pinch) and instead of sugar on top of the cookies I sprinkled with a small touch of the salt flakes.I let my dough chill overnight since I wasn't in a hurry and just experimenting. It took coaxing to get my family to try these( no chocolate chips ya know) but they just loved them. Definitely a great addition to any savory snack platter you'll make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
It is a tradition in my house, for me to make rosemary cookies every season!!! Even my Aunt that does not like rosemary loves these!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Not sure what I did wrong but they just fall apart. Basically wasted all those ingredients. Not happy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I loved it! I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made these cookies for my daughter's wedding dessert bar and everyone loved them! I have made them several times since then and they always turn out well. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States