Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed With Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This pork roast is absolutely awesome! Here's what I did a bit differently: we were serving 6 guests so cut the whole pork roast in half but used the full recipe for the stuffing. Timing was perfect but did take out of the oven at 150 as I figured it would still cook. Moist, tender and perfect. The Port Wine gravy was delicious. Served with pureee of Sweet potatoes and roasted onions with balsamic vinegar and it was a wonderful accompaniment. Be sure the meat therm. is placed into the pork and NOT the dressing. Although the recipe said to baste with the pan dripping, there were none -- only burnt pieces on the cookie sheet. As the pork was setting, I added the juices from the pork to the gravy. Do try -- it got rave reviews from our guests but be careful not to overcook as a friend did. Take it out at 150 to rest! I will definitely make this over and over again. Cheap, delicious meal! For those who wish to cook at 350, I think the very slow cooking time is what gives it the flavor and tenderness. The timing really does work as boosting the temperature up to 400 makes it nice and brown and taking it out of the oven at 150 is perfect as it sets for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Thought I would try something different than turkey for Thanksgiving...WOW! This recipe was great and easy to prepare. The sauce with port wine was gone before I knew what happened. I took the roast to an internal temp. of 155 and it needed another 10 minutes in the oven; roast was moist and everyone loved it. UPDATE: Since my first review I have now doubled the gravy/sauce because everyone loves it. Also, 1/2 way through the cooking I added some chicken stock to the pan so the drippings did not burn or stick to the pan; this make it very easy to scrape the pan for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Sophisticated & soooo flavorful! Not too difficult to prepare either. I used a 3lb pork loin (rib section) & baked at 350 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours. I broiled it at the end for a few minutes. Perfect presentation & texture. I used the same amount of ingredients from the original recipe (8lbs pork loin) & doubled the sauce at the end. Way more than enough for two people. Plenty of leftovers, which we plan to have tonight :) Definately give this a try. A good trick - add some chicken stock to the bottom of the pan every twenty minutes or so & stir w/the drippings. It'll keep the bits from burning & you'll have plenty of "drippings" to make the sauce. Great when you want to double the sauce. Also, baste the roast each time you add the stock. It keeps it moist and flavorful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
A fabulous recipe! I made this for a large dinner party and wanted to save some time, so I stuffed the loin the night before. I think doing this allowed the garlic and rosemary flavors to completely permeate the entire body of the roast. It was a complete success, and quite beautiful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I served this for Christmas, and it was fabulous!! I used a 4 pound pork loin to serve 8 people, and it was beautifully browned once done. The only change I would suggest is instead of using whole garlic cloves to stuff it with, coarsely chop the garlic before cooking it in the olive oil, until soft. Then, use the smaller pieces to stuff the loin along with the apricots (also coarsely chopped) and cranberries. The pan sauce is amazing with the pork, and especially good on roasted garlic mashed potatoes. This was yummy, my entire family raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
4.5 stars for the recipe itself, but 5 stars for taste. This was delicious and made the house smell so good while it was cooking. It was also not difficult to prepare, especially for what I would call a "special occasion" dish. My only complaint is that the temperature and cook time did not seem to make sense. 250 degrees seemed really low to me, as I have always roasted a tenderloin at 350 before, but I decided to follow the recipe to the T, at least the first time around. I scaled the recipe for a 2.5 pound roast- I plan to make the full scale, 8 pound version for Christmas, but wanted to do a trial run, and I'm glad I did! Anyhow, just as I suspected, the roast was nowhere near done when I went to check it and baste it as the recipe calls for. In fact, it was barely browned on the bottom, while the rest was still raw. At that point, I increased the temperature to 350 for the rest of the time and it turned out fine. I am not sure if it matters that I used a smaller roast. Other than that, it was absolutely delish, different, and impressive looking! YUM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BEAUANDLILYSMOM
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
excellent, outstanding and superb! we had this for christmas eve dinner with my parents and we all agreed that this recipe has won a special place in our family's traditional holiday recipes. i had no trouble with the cooking time. i thought i might, but it came out wonderful. the pan drippings were even a little bit over done. i did use a much smaller roast, about a 3 lb. i will be making this meal again in about two weeks when my brother comes in for a visit. next time i'll stuff the roast more and definitely make more sauce. i served this with a caprese salad, the recommended roasted onions and mashed potatoes. one last thought, the meal wasn't too heavy and didn't sit like a brick in my stomach like a lot of holiday meals tend to do. best christmas eve ever! 1/14/06 i made this again for a visit from my brother, his family and my grandmother and her husband. everyone raved (even the skeptics). this time i used 2 3lb. roasts and still the cooking time worked perfectly. we thought we might have leftovers, didn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUANDLILYSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I agree- you need to change the temperature. A 6lb roast will take about 1 1/4-1 1/2 hrs at 325`. Use a working meat thermometer to check for doneness at 155-160`. It is a beautiful presentation! I used dried apples instead of apricots, and also dried cherries(yum). My sauce did not come out "saucy" but more "brothy", but it tasted good, and I agree it should be doubled to have enough. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made this last night and it was the best pork roast! Very moist. My family wasn't wild about apricots but they still ate it. I was wondering about using chopped tart apple instead...Had a 5 lb roast and roasted it @ 350 for 1 hour, 10 min then 400 for 20 min. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Exquisite! Served this @ a dinner party to rave reviews. The only change I made was to use 1 (250 ml) bottle of apple jelly which made enough sauce for basting & serving. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise Genge Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glovertown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States