Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed With Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was so good. I served it for friends and they were so impressed which made it even taste better to me. The leftovers were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Kolterman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Onaga, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This recipe was better as leftovers when the flavors were able to meld. I used 15 cloves of garlic, chopped apricots/apples/cranberries, and hardly any rosemary (it's just too overpowering). This recipe has great potential. I will make it again - but I highly recommend skipping the apricots, and shredding the apple and double the roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I've made this a couple of times, the last time was at Christmas for a large dinner party. Looks great, tastes better. I cook it on the grill using a disposable aluminum pan. As it cooks, add a little water to the pan if the pan starts to dry out. You need a meat thermometer to tell when it's done, cooking times aren't very reliable when grilling in Syracuse in winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This pork loin roast was served at my Christmas Dinner party and turned out beautifully. The meat was moist and the apricots and cranberries gave it a refreshing citrus kick! Not only was this reciepe easy but it looked very gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I could not find apple jelly at my supermarket so I substituted with plum jam. Quite good. To save time, I also chopped together the apricots and cranberries and mixed in the seasonings and herbs before stuffing it in the pork. Delicious and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I used wooden skewers to keep it tied up since I didn't have any appropriate string to use. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
A very yummy roast with beautiful presentation. I doubled up on stuffing ingredients and everyone loved it. I'll be serving this again. The slow oven that gave some reviewers concern is the whole reason this becomes a moist, but beautifully browned roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
The filling was a little dry, but the whole thing was WONDERFUL for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I did this for friends for our Christmas day dinner and it was a huge hit. I changed a couple of things only because of the ingredients I had on hand- I substituted one chopped fresh gannie smith apple for the apricots. I placed slices of hickory bacon at an angle across the stuffed loin before I cooked it (I've found that the bacon keeps the pork moist and helps to make a great presentation before sliced). My friends were telling others about how good it was at new years so I think it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Cook this for yourself first before trying for company. I followed the directions to a T and the majority of the pork was so dried out my company could barely chew it, while the very center was a red-raw core. I'd stick the meat thermometer into the center and it wouldn't rise high enough. But anywhere outside of the center, and it would shoot up way too high. What a disaster. I chalk it up to the 250-degree oven. Who has ever heard of that? Why did I trust that? I'm giving it two stars because the flavor was ok. I thought the gravy was a little too sweet. Oh well, at least I had an abundance of side dishes for everyone to fill up on! Next time, I'll stick with simple and simply delicious. (Oh yeah, this recipe was a lot of work, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States