Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed With Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I bought a 7.75 pound pork loin that I thought was whole. When I opened the package it turned out to be 2 halves. No problem, I just used half the filling in each one. I cooked them uncovered in a 15x10 jellyroll pan at 325 for 2 hours. Then upped the temp to 400 for 15 minutes, then broiled to give the golden color for about 5 minutes. There is confusing feedback for this recipe. For example, I don't know how anyone ended up with a done on the outside, raw in the center unless they cooked it WAY too high. Further, cooking at as I did rendered an EXCELLENT product, juicy, amazing flavors infused in the meat, cripsy on the outside where the marinade had caramelized, and done perfectly. However, my meat thermometer registered 190 when I took it out of the oven. Even when I moved it to another section of the meat to ensure it wasn't stuck in the filling it registered 180-190,but this was one of the juiciest roasts we've ever had. I used the seasonings and fruits exactly as written and it turned out SO flavorful, the rosemary (used fresh) was not overwhelming at all. I did not strain my pan juices and the sauce for this was fabulous. I did add a handful of the cranberries to it as it simmered, the tartness of which cut the relative sweetness of the sauce perfectly. I am giving this one 5 stars because despite being worried from the feedback I've read, turned out absolutely wonderful and is simple to make. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was wonderful. Followed the directions to the letter, for a change and it came out beautiful. I will definetly make this again as I only had a 3.5 pound roast and I've got lots of cranberries and apricots left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
The timing on this recipe works out perfectly. I know it doesn't seem possile, but it does work. When you let it rest, it does continue cooking. I know by accident. My pork loin had a built in thermometer. (I had to cut around it to stuff it) The middle had not popped out when I took it out of the oven. After letting it rest for the allotted time, the thermometer had popped! My husband loved it. The sauce was excellent--double it. I didn't care much for the apricots, but I'm not an apricot fan.I'd be interested in trying apples and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I followed it to a "T" and made it as one of three pork loins for Christmas Dinner for my family of 42. My uncles are all super picky about their pork, but they gobbled this up, and it looked so lovely and smelled fabulous cooking. It was such a hit, I made it 2 weeks later for my mother's bible study and again rave reviews. This is a great showoff recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was an excellent recipe that was made even better by the addition of peppered goat cheese. At the point of adding the fruit and pan-roasted garlic to the cavity of the pork loin, I added about 6 oz of cheese, dotted throughout. It added a lovely creaminess to the texture, and was a big hit at my Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have just recently joined the AllRecipe.com group. Primarily because of this recipe... I have been here at this site for several years and have reffered it to many a friends. This recipe is one of the very best I have come across. Simple preparation. I used a 6.75 lb Pork roast, raised the initial cook temp from 250 to 260 for 1.5 hrs. added double the garlic (sliced it though) also sliced the apricots and halved the cranberries. Time was perfect, as was the temp of the Pork. Gravy came out great, was able to add juice from the roasting pan. Meal was delicious, juicy and tender. Served with Minnesota Potatoes, vegetables and Lobster tail. Will definately make again. Highly recommended. My compliments its creator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This dish was fantastic. I changed it quite a bit to fit what i had, but it came out perfectly. The dried fruit in the middle adds so much. The gravy is also superb. I roasted sweet potatoes with it and garlic green beans. Just a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was so good. I served it for friends and they were so impressed which made it even taste better to me. The leftovers were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Kolterman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Onaga, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This recipe was better as leftovers when the flavors were able to meld. I used 15 cloves of garlic, chopped apricots/apples/cranberries, and hardly any rosemary (it's just too overpowering). This recipe has great potential. I will make it again - but I highly recommend skipping the apricots, and shredding the apple and double the roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I've made this a couple of times, the last time was at Christmas for a large dinner party. Looks great, tastes better. I cook it on the grill using a disposable aluminum pan. As it cooks, add a little water to the pan if the pan starts to dry out. You need a meat thermometer to tell when it's done, cooking times aren't very reliable when grilling in Syracuse in winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States