Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed With Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Loved It!!! I had to do a few modifications since I was using 'inventory' I had on hand, in my kitchen. Dried Rosemary (not as good as fresh, but it was in stock). Used Peach Preserves instead of Dried Apricots. Used a Dried Berry Mix from my favorite discount Food Store Chain. Cooked in 2C of Chicken Broth to keep it moist. Flavor was AWESOME, serving it on a bed a Jasmine & Wild Rice blended together. Smells & taste tested WONDERFULLY. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was KILLER GOOD. Though my family eats Paleo. I used a large Pyrex baking dish and surrounded the meat with baby carrots and peeled/chopped purple sweet potatoes. I tossed the vegetables in a bowl with 1/4 cup olive oil and a light sprinkling of cayenne , 1 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. salt. I substituted "Sugar Free" Apple Butter for the apple jelly. Tapioca flour for the cornstarch. As a side dish I sautéed peeled and chunked apples (I sprinkled with "Apple Pie Spices" and and 1 TBL. honey, then toss to mix. Saute in very hot coconut oil until golden on two sides. Turn off heat and stir apples, let stand while preparing the gravy. The apples need to cool a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blanche1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made this for Christmas dinner this year . It was a huge hit with everyone. The family took all the left overs home had to hide a plate for my room mate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I've made this recipe many times for dinner parties or holiday meals it comes out perfect every time. It's very impressive without too much effort. Last night I served it with a wild rice and kale salad. The "low and slow" cooking method ensures it stays juicy and flavorful. The largest roast I've used is about 4 lbs, which serves 8 easily. Because the roast is thick, it still took nearly all the recommended cooking time -- 90 min at 250, then about 25 min at the higher heat. I take it out of the oven at 150 degrees and let it rest for 30 minutes. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this tonight with the following changes. I used apple butter because that's what I had on hand. I stuffed the roast with 3 chopped cloves of garlic and 1/8 cup of finely chopped fresh rosemary, 1/4 cup of dried cranberries and 1/4 cup of dried Montmorency cherries. I added cup up potatoes and onions to the pan and roasted everything in a 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We switched up the jellies a bit according to what we had --delicious and the leftovers made great croquettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Easy for big groups. Very moist and flavorful. I cooked 2 large roasts @275 then up to 400--took about 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I made it for a regular weeknight meal (scaled down). I followed the recommendations of others to roast at 350 and finish at 400, which was great. The pork came out tender and flavorful, but the filing, which is the whole point of this recipe, was disjointed. You either got garlic OR apricot OR Cranberry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I do a quicker version of this too. Cut slits in roast, cook the garlic in oil, fill slits in meat with dried cranberries, add the oil in slits and all over. Salt the outside heavily, add the broth in the pan and cook low and slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Wow!I made this for company (taking a chance) but it was loved by everyone. I bought a 5 lb. loin roast for 6 people, but had way too much left over and we've eaten pork for 4 days now. I didn't use the juices left as it seemed a bit too fruity, so I just doctored up a package of pork gravy and it went well with the mashed potatoes. I will be sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States