Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed With Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Not only was this a beautiful presentation, but it tasted fantastic! The sauce is just out of this world. I doubled up on the sauce, and even the apple jelly called for when brushing the loin, and had no problems with the sauce it creates burning while cooking. I added a bit more olive oil as well, maybe that helped. I did think the 16 cloves of garlic called for would be too much for my 5 pound loin, so I put 10 and regret it. I wish I used all 16 because there was hardly any garlic flavor there (maybe because I prepared the loin the night before and the garlic lost it's flavor?). But over all it was a fancy meal, my guests were very impressed and they all asked for the recipe. Everyone "ooohhh'd and aaaahh'd all night long over this! I served the loin with rice, homemade mashed potatoes, broccoli with garlic, olive oil and raisins, and a spinach-strawberry salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe will stay on my Christmas Eve buffet menu for good! I use an 8-11 lb. loin and the cooking time works out to be just over 11 min per lb. at 250 degrees. I put the apricots in last to hold in the cranberries(they sometimes fall out of the cavity. You have to really tie it up about every inch so you don't lose any of the yummy filling. It is time consuming, but worth it. 20 min at 400 degrees(even for an 11 lb roast) is sufficient. Don't over cook it after all that work! Everyone looks forward to this dish and the port wine sauce is superb. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Fantastic. A little time-consuming, but worth it. Following another reviewer's semi-recommendation, and considering I had a lot of other fires to tend, I stuffed my loin the night before and just let it soak up the flavors. Also, as I don't care for apples (I know), I replaced the apple jelly with mango jelly, which I wholeheartedly endorse. I had to cook at 325 because of other issues, but I felt OK with that given what others said, and I even got to finish it at 400, but for closer to 10 minutes than 20. I'm convinced: what makes this amazing is the stuffing and the sauce. So any method that cooks the meat thoroughly but not too much will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrlukaw
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a very impressive dish that I made for Xmas. I am not a good cook by any means, yet this recipe was easy enough to follow and turned out great!! I added apples and prunes to the stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
not that hard and an incredible dish for a holiday or special dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Great recipe. I followed the recipe as instructed except that I also mixed the port wine in with the stuffing. I served it with carrots and potatoes that I baked with the tenderloin after about an hour of it baking by itself. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this for Christmas and it was a hit. Tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Good starting point but the cooking technique was a problem for me - the 400 degree part at the end scorched the roast, burnt up the pan juices and ultimately it was dry. Next time I'll sear it off in a pan, start at 400 then drop to 325 until a 150-160 internal temp. Aside from that, the flavor was good. Used dried cherries, blueberries and apples instead of apricots and halved the rosemary (I like the smell but not the taste) and subbed with fresh thyme. Sauce made as directed and it was lovely. As another poster said, I'd test run it before serving to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is a delicious recipe! My mom wanted me to find a recipe for pork loin, so I found this one and she made it. The pork was so moist and the sauce was delicious! The only problem is that the sauce started to burn early on, so I would recommend waiting to add the apple jelly mixture until later so it won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States