Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed With Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We could not find apple jelly and substituted apple/cranberry butter. Worked out great. The pork was a bit dry, but the gravy helped. We served it with scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Wonderful. Servered for a special celebration dinner with mashed potatoes & sauted green beans. I was nervous about the cooking time...afraid it was not long enough--even though my meat thermometer told me different. The cooking time & temp. was spot on. The meat came out so moist & flavorful. I made no changes other then to double the sauce amount and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Excellent dish will make this again. I doubled the sauce as advised in previous posts, had a lot left over and did not want to throw it out, so used it as a base for a grd beef pot pie it was so good I had no left overs should have fed 6 but DH and son ate 3/4 of it. Back to the Roast this is a keeper and will make it again next time will tent it with foil in a smaller baking pan so that I have a bit more juice otherwise no changes where made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki, Epicure consultant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Tried this recipe on my family last night. I had bought a bag of dried fruit at Wal-mart, one of those snack bags that have trail mix, etc. but this one had just dried pineapples, apples, raisins, apricots, mango, etc. Turned out really yummy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Not only was this a beautiful presentation, but it tasted fantastic! The sauce is just out of this world. I doubled up on the sauce, and even the apple jelly called for when brushing the loin, and had no problems with the sauce it creates burning while cooking. I added a bit more olive oil as well, maybe that helped. I did think the 16 cloves of garlic called for would be too much for my 5 pound loin, so I put 10 and regret it. I wish I used all 16 because there was hardly any garlic flavor there (maybe because I prepared the loin the night before and the garlic lost it's flavor?). But over all it was a fancy meal, my guests were very impressed and they all asked for the recipe. Everyone "ooohhh'd and aaaahh'd all night long over this! I served the loin with rice, homemade mashed potatoes, broccoli with garlic, olive oil and raisins, and a spinach-strawberry salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe will stay on my Christmas Eve buffet menu for good! I use an 8-11 lb. loin and the cooking time works out to be just over 11 min per lb. at 250 degrees. I put the apricots in last to hold in the cranberries(they sometimes fall out of the cavity. You have to really tie it up about every inch so you don't lose any of the yummy filling. It is time consuming, but worth it. 20 min at 400 degrees(even for an 11 lb roast) is sufficient. Don't over cook it after all that work! Everyone looks forward to this dish and the port wine sauce is superb. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Fantastic. A little time-consuming, but worth it. Following another reviewer's semi-recommendation, and considering I had a lot of other fires to tend, I stuffed my loin the night before and just let it soak up the flavors. Also, as I don't care for apples (I know), I replaced the apple jelly with mango jelly, which I wholeheartedly endorse. I had to cook at 325 because of other issues, but I felt OK with that given what others said, and I even got to finish it at 400, but for closer to 10 minutes than 20. I'm convinced: what makes this amazing is the stuffing and the sauce. So any method that cooks the meat thoroughly but not too much will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrlukaw
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a very impressive dish that I made for Xmas. I am not a good cook by any means, yet this recipe was easy enough to follow and turned out great!! I added apples and prunes to the stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
not that hard and an incredible dish for a holiday or special dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States