Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed With Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made this recipe on Sat for a dinner party for 8 people. It turned out wonderful. Moist and tender. I had a 5 pound roast and I roasted it for 35 minutes on 250 degrees and I was so worried it wasn't cooking I turned it up to 350 and it reached 150 degrees in another 35 minutes. I took it out and tented it and let it stay in a warming oven while we had our salad .I should have stuck to the plan , I'm sure it would have worked perfectly ...I'll try again when its just family. Anyway it was wonderful and the flavours were perfect!! Even though it had to wait for 30 min on warm it was fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I am planning on making this dish for a Christmas dinner gathering. I have read all the reviews and if you brine any meat you will never have to worry about dryness. I will take all the reviews and create my own version and will return to post mine..Happy Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FELINE3X

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth Amboy, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was wonderful, and not hard to make, despite the long name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was good--I swapped the apricots for apricot jam and apple jelly for real diced apples. I also used a pork shoulder instead but it was very good, nice flavors. The only suggestion is to not put the jelly glaze on until the last 1/2 hour because it burns on the pan pretty badly (because of the sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made this last Christmas for my family and got rave reviews. As I was cooking it early to take to Christmas lunch I didn't do the glaze and just had a traditional crackling instead. Wrapped it well in foil and it had the standing time in the car on the way to Mum's. It was just nicely warm for lunch, moist and flavoursome, with excellent crackling. The rosemary/cranberry combination was really good - a nice change from the usual apricot/prune stuffing. I will definitely make this again. With thanks from Sydney, Australia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I bought a 7.75 pound pork loin that I thought was whole. When I opened the package it turned out to be 2 halves. No problem, I just used half the filling in each one. I cooked them uncovered in a 15x10 jellyroll pan at 325 for 2 hours. Then upped the temp to 400 for 15 minutes, then broiled to give the golden color for about 5 minutes. There is confusing feedback for this recipe. For example, I don't know how anyone ended up with a done on the outside, raw in the center unless they cooked it WAY too high. Further, cooking at as I did rendered an EXCELLENT product, juicy, amazing flavors infused in the meat, cripsy on the outside where the marinade had caramelized, and done perfectly. However, my meat thermometer registered 190 when I took it out of the oven. Even when I moved it to another section of the meat to ensure it wasn't stuck in the filling it registered 180-190,but this was one of the juiciest roasts we've ever had. I used the seasonings and fruits exactly as written and it turned out SO flavorful, the rosemary (used fresh) was not overwhelming at all. I did not strain my pan juices and the sauce for this was fabulous. I did add a handful of the cranberries to it as it simmered, the tartness of which cut the relative sweetness of the sauce perfectly. I am giving this one 5 stars because despite being worried from the feedback I've read, turned out absolutely wonderful and is simple to make. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was wonderful. Followed the directions to the letter, for a change and it came out beautiful. I will definetly make this again as I only had a 3.5 pound roast and I've got lots of cranberries and apricots left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
The timing on this recipe works out perfectly. I know it doesn't seem possile, but it does work. When you let it rest, it does continue cooking. I know by accident. My pork loin had a built in thermometer. (I had to cut around it to stuff it) The middle had not popped out when I took it out of the oven. After letting it rest for the allotted time, the thermometer had popped! My husband loved it. The sauce was excellent--double it. I didn't care much for the apricots, but I'm not an apricot fan.I'd be interested in trying apples and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I followed it to a "T" and made it as one of three pork loins for Christmas Dinner for my family of 42. My uncles are all super picky about their pork, but they gobbled this up, and it looked so lovely and smelled fabulous cooking. It was such a hit, I made it 2 weeks later for my mother's bible study and again rave reviews. This is a great showoff recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was an excellent recipe that was made even better by the addition of peppered goat cheese. At the point of adding the fruit and pan-roasted garlic to the cavity of the pork loin, I added about 6 oz of cheese, dotted throughout. It added a lovely creaminess to the texture, and was a big hit at my Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States