Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed With Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I halved the recipe and used a 4 lb loin roast and it certainly made plenty for my BF and I, with lots of leftovers. And considering the roast was les than 8 bucks the recipe definitely a keeper. I can totally see myself serving this to company. Next time I would probably mince and then saute the garlic as jrbaker suggested as the BF wasn't too crazy about the whole cloves. I also coarsely chopped the apricots. Although my roast was at room temp, it did take quite awhile longer than the recipe stated (and the time was for an 8 lb roast too) so just give yourself some extra time. The sauce was quite good though very sweet. I think next time I'd like to try it with a more traditonal pork gravy (maybe drippings, chicken stock, white wine and some herbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My family is not big on other meats other than venison but they loved this loin roast. I didn't have the port wine but just used white cooking wine might make a difference but none the less it was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great tasting roast. Easy to prep. Make sure roast is at room temp before putting in oven. Cooking times were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My family and I loved this recipe. It was so easy to make, flavorful and beautiful. It was definitely the highlight of our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My husband and I served this for a Christmas dinner party over the weekend. We cooked it for about an hour at 250 and then turned up to 350 for remaining time. I couldn't find apple jelly, but found apple jalapeno jelly which tasted spicy out of the jar, but couldn't taste the spiciness on the meat. It tasted really nice. We also used a dried fruit medley by Sunmaid, that had apples, apricots, prunes, etc in it. It worked out really well. Topped with the port sauce, this makes a very attractive and tasty main course. We served it with scalloped potatoes (also an all-recipes recipes) and fresh green beans. I will make it again for my family for Christmas dinner! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was so delicious. Everyone loved it, especially the port wine sauce. It seems a little daunting at first but once you start, it is really easy. I highly recommend it in lieu of boring turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. Easy and very impressive to serve. I was generous with the olive oil. Dried rosemary is fine to use though I used less than the 3 T. calleld for of fresh rosemary. After I covered it with the extra oil, apple jelly, garlic and rosemary, I baked it, but did not finish the recipe with the wine, etc. People were very impressed with this(The reciped was increased to served a party of 35).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunkirk, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Was wonderful, gave it 4 stars because it was a tad dry. Not sure why, I did baste a few times....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This turned out gorgeous and delicious! I went to 4 different stores looking for apple jelly and ended up using grape jelly instead since I thought it would go well with the port...and I was right! I didn't get any drippings either, just some burnt stuff. I did cook it on a rack. Next time I will spray the bottom of my pan with PAM and add some liquid to the bottom of the pan. It went perfect with the Syrah tasting we did that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Get up and Dance! My 5 year old nephew, who can be a picky eater, exclaimed.."This meat is good! It makes me want to get up and dance!" Have made it several times and it's the most requested from friends for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States