Rosemary Roasted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I had picky eaters and accomplished cooks over for thanksgiving so I was looking for something that was somewhat traditional but not boring. I took the advice of other reviewers and used a bottle of wine instead of water. I also used butter instead of olive oil. It was a 10! Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I took fresh rosemary, fresh basil, freshly minced garlic, italian seasoning, s&p and olive oil and blended it thoroughly. I'll let you know how it is blended and applied to the exterior and between the breast and skin. Nervously hoping it is okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
i have made similar turkey for the past 10 years. I make small slivers of fresh garlic (3-4 cloves) and equal amount of slivered butter. Strategically slip a sliver of the garlic & butter, together, under the skin until you use it all. put 2-3 cloves of garlic and 1 3-4" sprig of fresh rosemary in the cavity. roast the turkey. use the dripping to make the most amazing gravy ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I am not a good cook. I just made this recipe and it came out perfect! I have never used my oven too much. But, I just recently bought a big duel fuel range (gas stove on top, electric convection oven) and I have been getting recipes from this site and cooking up a storm lately. This recipe has been my best yet! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Perfect...superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Roasted this for Easter dinner and it was delicious! I did not have fresh spices so I had to use dried, but the flavor was still really good. This recipe definitely needs to be fixed again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I modified this recipe to fit a 3 pound turkey roasted that was netted when I bought it un-seasoned. With my herb garden going crazy, I totally took advantage of using the ingredients listed. I didn't place he herbs under the skin because as I stated, my turkey roast was netted and felt just compelled to rub on the outer portion verses, cutting open the net and placing under the skin. However, totally killer delicious, my turkey was very flavorful and it was a nice change from butter basting or honey brining my turkey. Will make again...a super thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I used this recipe when making my very first roast turkey. Since I had made roast chicken before, I knew I wanted to use real salted butter (Land O' Lakes) instead of olive oil (I omitted the salt in the recipe since I used salted butter), and I doubled up on all the ingredients since I wanted to make sure my turkey was moist with the butter. In addition to substituting butter for the olive oil and doubling up, I also tweaked the recipe in adding more garlic than called for. I also used a disposable roasting pan and did not use a roasting rack or the water that was called for. If you use enough butter, you don't need to the water to keep the turkey moist...plus, the water spoils the drippings for the gravy. I also cooked the bird breast-down, that way the breast was cooked in the butter and spices when it melted. I still spooned the melted butter/spice mixture over the exposed portion of the bird, however, to make sure all the meat was moistened and delicious. I used the drippings to make the gravy. The turkey and gravy turned out perfect! My husband said it was the best turkey and gravy he'd ever eaten (and his parents are fabulous cooks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This made for a wonderful Christmas turkey! The seasonings are very coarse, so eating a piece of meat with an abundance of spices on it did have an interesting texture, but the flavor overall was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Not your average turkey dinner. The spice combination is phenomenal. Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States