Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made it for thanksgiving and they were amazing-no substitutions. Well I did add the honey with the warm water to activate the yeast rather than after, but I consider that more of a personal technique not an alteration of the recipe. With the video these were super easy to make. I ended up needing to add some floud after rising when I went to knead and portion the rolls. I ended up with 32 rolls. Maybe they were a little small but no one complained. I'm always looking for ways to use my rosemary bush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Just made them and I cannot stop eating them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahbear
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Okay so they are amazingly delicious, so why only 4 stars? As written they wouldn't come out, they needed a lot more flour, about 3 cups+ instead of 2 1/2 cups+. Maybe it has to do with the flour I was using but who knows. And please, ONLY use fresh rosemary before giving a bad review, you really need the fresh stuff! It's so good!! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Super easy recipe!! I used Himalayan sea salt for the top and it made crunchy and soft at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great recipe, and the video is really helpful. I did have to add rather a lot more flour than called for to get the correct texture, but the rolls turned out fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe. I used whole wheat flour and sage instead. It was easy and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I taught myself how to bake and all the holes Chef John has filled in cant thank him enough this explained why my rolls were coming out hard shell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made these yesterday for our Thanksgiving dinner. I followed the directions exactly but I omitted the rosemary only because my turkey was heavily herbed and didn't want overkill. I used "best for bread" flour and not AP as noted in the recipe. I need way more flour...like almost a cup more. I did just like the video said and add gradually, stop and scrape...it just wouldn't pull from the sides. It was still pretty sticky when done but I oiled it and let it rise. I was a little concerned but it rose fine. It was still super tacky when I laid it out to cut to make the little balls...we just floured our hands. The buns turned out great though! Fluffy and light. Next time I will make them bigger though for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deena Stone Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I tried the recipe with instant yeast, and it didn't turn out that great :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aruniya selladurai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Let me first start out by saying that Chef John is the bomb! I discovered him when I tried his meatless meatballs and anyone who can conquer something like that was worth following. In the past I have not had good luck with dinner rolls, they were either too heavy, didn't rise, or didn't have good flavor. These rolls were beyond amazing. I couldn't believe the flavor that came from these. I didn't have fresh rosemary so I instead used 1tsp of dried rosemary and doubled the honey. I thought it was going to be a flop because I needed much more flour to get the dough to pull away from the bowl, but I was patient and it worked. I strongly suggest following the video instead of the instructions. They are slightly different, and the video will keep you on point (as well as make you laugh)! These were easy, and worth the effort!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States