Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I tried the recipe with instant yeast, and it didn't turn out that great :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aruniya selladurai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Let me first start out by saying that Chef John is the bomb! I discovered him when I tried his meatless meatballs and anyone who can conquer something like that was worth following. In the past I have not had good luck with dinner rolls, they were either too heavy, didn't rise, or didn't have good flavor. These rolls were beyond amazing. I couldn't believe the flavor that came from these. I didn't have fresh rosemary so I instead used 1tsp of dried rosemary and doubled the honey. I thought it was going to be a flop because I needed much more flour to get the dough to pull away from the bowl, but I was patient and it worked. I strongly suggest following the video instead of the instructions. They are slightly different, and the video will keep you on point (as well as make you laugh)! These were easy, and worth the effort!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Omg I made them tonight my first time making rolls at home a hit thank u chef ....... I needed a lil more flour but other then that so awesome try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Did the dough the old fashion way came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I'm always on the search for new roll recipes, and man these ones were good. These rolls partnered with beef stew were a match made in yummy food heaven. I highly suggest these rolls with hardy meals, it complemented it perfectly. Will be saving this recipe, and using it again.. Very soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made these rolls last night and baked them this morning.I divided the dough into two equal parts.Each dough yielded 20 small rolls(pingpong ball size)I put blue cheese in the other half and plain rolls for the other half because my husband doesn't like blue cheese and I love it.Also I used a cup of whole wheat flour and a cup of bread flour and added vital gluten.The dough rose high first but after I shaped the rolls, and let them rest overnight, they flattened and didn't rise even after baking.Yet they were delicious but a little dense.I will make them again but I will add eggs to add more protein.Thank you Chep John...Neri Kawashima Kawasaki City ,Japan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These were awesome! I used a stand mixer because I'm useless at kneading by hand. I made them for Thanksgiving, but the grocery stores were sold out of fresh rosemary by the time I was able to go shopping. Instead, I crumbled up some dried rosemary and mixed it with the milk and butter while it was heating on the stove so it'd rehydrate. It really incorporated the rosemary flavor throughout the bread. I think I'd do this even with fresh rosemary. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I was only able to get 18 very small rolls out of this recipe, so I would definitely at least double this recipe for a crowd. I'd love to try this with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Followed it all exactly. I was really impressed with how the dough turned out. It was the perfect amount of flour. I was just mixing everything in a bowl by hand, and it came together so easily, and rose beautifully. The rolls weren't mind blowingly amazing, but they were still good and I might try them again, doubling the recipe and making bigger sized rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I just took these out of the oven and there are already three gone! the only thing I changed was adding about a teaspoon of lemon zest to the dough and sprinkled a little extra flour over the top before I baked them. Mmmmm! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I searched and searched for a dinner roll recipe that was easy and sounded good to make for Thanksgiving. I went with this recipe because it came with a video, which I suggest watching if you've never made homemade rolls before. I made a test batch today to taste them and this recipe is a keeper. They are very good and the rosemary added a great flavor that wasn't over powering. This is my first time ever at making homemade bread and I am no Betty Crocker in the kitchen. These rolls were easy to make. I followed the directions completely. It seemed I did use a little more flour then called for. I just added very small amounts until the dough balled up and pulled away from the sides of the bowl like in the video. Be sure to have a thermometer on hand so you can get the proper water temperature so not to kill the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States