Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I used two tsp dry rosemary and soaked it in hot water to rehydrate them I also added an egg to make it richer and added more flour to form a dough ball My whole family loves these rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I tried this to substitute for my normal crescent rolls for Easter dinner. Half the group thought they were great, better than the crescents, very redolent of rosemary. The other half, including me, preferred the regular crescents, finding these dry, needing salt, and just not tasty. I will not save the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
A minor fault in this recipe is that to start the yeast you will need to add 1/2 teaspoon of sugar to the warm water otherwise this is a fantastic recipe and the texture of the rolls is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
These are great rolls. Very soft and fresh! I made the dough in my bread machine and then made them into rolls and let raise for the second time. Made the work so easy. Next time I will add a little more rosemary because I love the flavor and wasn't quite enough for me. Great recipe though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Let me start by saying I have never made bread before and the thought of it has always been rather intimidating. These were so easy to make and very tasty. I was hosting a chili competition and I really wanted to try my hand at making dinner rolls. WATCH THE VIDEO FIRST! I didnt watch the video and so I had to go back and a fix my batter when it was too sticky but they still turned out great. I needed at least double the amounnt of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by BAKER05
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Did not use a stand mixer. Used a chopstick to gradually blend wet ingredients into dry ingredients..starting with milk mixture, then yeast mixture. Remember to ensure the wet ingredients are not hot enough to kill yeast..Used regular butter and skipped the addition of salt. Added extra flour until a pretty workable dough formed..a little more than the extra 1/2 cup of flour the recipe called for. Kneaded for a couple minutes. Skipped the egg, and brushed melted butter mixed with garlic powder mixed with chopped cilantro (or any addition of choice) . Could cut the dough into balls and stack them a centimeter apart or bake as a whole, whatever you choose. Baked at 350 until golden brown at edges (or however you like). Take out and brush another layer of butter. Let cool before serving. Results were fantastic! Thanks soo much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I served these yesterday at Christmas dinner to our grown kids & young grandkids. Everyone knew I prepared the dinner, which was yummy. After dinner, my daughter said she couldn't get over how good those rosemary rolls I served were -- talking as if I had ordered them from a bakery. It turns out my DIL also figured they came from a bakery. When I told them "NO, I baked them," they were blown away. MANY thanks to Chef John for this great recipe. So... I'll be making them often this year and sharing them with family and friends. I didn't tweak anything. Perfect as is. I added the very final additions of flour very little at a time (less than 1 Tbsp at a time at the end). Finally I found the point where the dough didn't stick to sides or bottom of the bowl. Voila. Just follow the recipe. You'll be happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was great! My daughter even passed on the extra mashed potatoes (her fav) to have more of these! I put a little too much sea salt on the top, but the rest was bang on. These will definitely get a special place in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Denney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I just made this recipe and they turned out pretty perfect. I made the mistake of forgetting to punch down the down after the first rise, so i had some surface bubbles on the roll. But regardless they turned out surprisingly well especially considering how simple they are to make. I doubled the size of the rolls and they baked in my oven and were done in about 15 minutes. Instead of using rosemary, I substituted poppy seeds as a garnish because I didn't have any fresh herbs on hand. All in all it is a fantastic recipe, even for beginners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for thanksgiving and was a great side. Small size was perfect and were fluffy on the inside. You can taste the rosemary but its not too overpowering. It seemed stronger tasting the day after. For kids I might reduce the herb and add parmesan. || Recipe was easy since the mixer does the work. I ended up adding maybe 1/2 c more flour but turned out well. My trick (learned from SmittenKitchen.com) for portioning rolls is to take advantage of the uniform round shape after the first rise. Don't punch it down but flip it onto a cutting board then cut it like like a pie. First down the middle, then quartered and so on. The number of cuts makes this technique a bit harder but its still doable and easier to portion in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States