Rosemary Potatoes with Roasted Heads of Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I meant to take a picture, but these smelled so wonderful cooking that we dove in as soon as they were out of the oven. I used dried rosemary because that's what I had on hand, and I halved the recipe since there were just two of us. I regret not making the full recipe because they were that good. I would recommend tossing the potatoes in the olive oil prior to dotting with butter and drizzling with white wine. That way you don't have any potatoes get dried out while roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Oh goodness! What is not to like? The flavors are perfect. Mine did take about an hour to roast to perfection. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Superb! Recipe is wonderful and is easily modified for many tastes. I usually use the fingerling red, white and purple potatoes for color, and 1/2 cup of white wine and 1/2 cup of chicken or vegetable stock for more complexity in the overall flavor. To amp of the level of sophistication add 4 ounces of gorgonzola cheese to the mix. It makes the most creamy sauce imaginable. NOTE: to keep your garlic from drying out, brush the top with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and cover with a very thin slice of butter prior to baking! Your taste buds will thank you! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very easy recipe. I used russet potatoes because that's what I had on hand and I also cut the recipe in half, as I was only cooking for four people. I did not have any fresh rosemary so I did a quick online search to find the dried equivalent. The site I found said 1/2 tsp was equivalent to one sprig of rosemary. I was also cooking this along side a roasted chicken (each in their own roasting pan) so I cooked them at the temp and time for the chicken (350 degrees for 1 hr 15 mins)and they were cooked perfectly. I found the potatoes needed just a little more flavour, but these were a VERY god roasted potato with our roast chicken and steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was amazing! My family loved it- there were no leftovers. I've been looking for a good rosemary potato recipe and this is it! However, it took more like an hour and fifteen minutes for it to reach the level of done ness we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Use half red and half white potatoes - some fresh and sprinkle of dried rosemary, added a little bit of chopped onion and followed rest of directions. This smells fantastic while it cooks and serves up beautifully! Cooked in the oven as the weather is "iffy" today. Squeezed and mixed in the roasted garlic. Keeping warm while I roast the chicken for dinner! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I love this recipe!!! Made just as written. I am thinking of making these for our Easter dinner instead of the standard holiday mashed potatos. I'm making them for the second time tonight but I'm going to add more garlic, that way I have some to put on the potatos and some roasted garlic to spread on buttered french bread. great way to roast some garlic while you are cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I changed red skin potatoes for regular potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea O.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by TQM
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I wanted to like this recipe, but it wasn't anything special. It took a lot longer to cook than 45 minutes, but I lost track of how long I ended up leaving them in the oven (maybe a total of 2 hours?). There wasn't much in the way of taste in the potatoes, and I'm not too sure what, if anything, the white wine did for them. Since the garlic did cook perfectly, I went ahead and squeezed it into the potatoes and mixed it all in. The end result was ok. I paired this with he "Quick Chicken Marsala" recipe here on the site, which was perfection! Photos added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe and there is way too much oil/butter for me. All I could taste was oil in the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States