Rosemary Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is the way I cook pork roast, and people who thought they didn't like it now like it. I use garlic, sale rosemary and sage. Everyone wants to get the pieces with the crunch topping on it. I always use a meat thermometer, so that it says moist, not overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Gipson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was one of the few times I broke my cardinal rule to follow the recipe 100% the first time. My roast was a 4lb pork loin. I took suggestions from several reviewers and cut slits in the roast & filled them with part of the garlic and fresh rosemary that I pressed slightly with the side of a small spoon to release the flavor & aroma. I then rubbed the roast with the olive oil & spread additional garlic & rosemary over it, along with some salt & pepper. I roasted it for 15 minutes at 450, then reduced the temperature to 300 for 90 more minutes, basting occasionally. It was amazingly tender, juicy and delicious! I made gravy with the pan drippings and served slow-cooker mashed potatoes, pesto tomatoes (both recipes from this site) and steamed broccoli sprinkled with freshly ground Parmesan. We had enough meat & potatoes for leftovers that we had with applesauce and a green tossed salad. It was just as good the second time around! Thank you, Stacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Made this over the weekend. Loved it !! So tender it fell apart trying to get it out of the crockpot. I used a 4 lb. pork shoulder roast that I seared on all sides. In same pan I sauted 1/2 onion (all I had) and garlic in olive oil, scrapeing bottom to get all the brown bits. Place the roast, onions garlic, rosemary, 1/2 cup water & 1 cup wine in crockpot & cook on low for 6-7 hours. Ymmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe turned out great. I cooked the roast covered with foil for 1 hour, and then removed the foil the last hour. It was very tender & moist - a great dinner paired with mashed potatoes & country style green beans with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purse Envy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Lovely seasoning for pork roasts (or chops). Always try to have fresh rosemary on hand because it marries so well with pork. Good submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was a good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because it was a little dry. I put slits in the pork and inserted a clove of garlic in it. (6 total) I also used fresh rosemary. I rested the pork on a bed of apples and onions so it wouldnt burn on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I reduced the cooking time to an hour. Just until the juices run clear. I love it! the meat was tender and juicy, and the smell was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I will definitely make this again! Followed the advice of others to make pockets in the pork loin and stuff garlic and rosemary into them. Also, cooked at 450 for 1st 10 minutes, then 350 for 90 minutes. Checked it at 60 minutes as others suggested to shorten bake time, but internal temp wasn't quite up to 165. Poured a bit of water in bottom of roasting pan before baking and added small amount of garlic, rosemary, and pepper. Then served over the pork loin. Excellent, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Delicious and easy! You can't go wrong here! I just rubbed garlic powder on along with the rosemary instead of cloves, and it came out yummy. Easy + yummy = KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States