Rosemary Mashed Potatoes and Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
My guests loved this! I thought it was pretty good, which says a lot since I don't like yams at all. A little on the sweet side for me--I may use more white potatoes next time. Tasted even better as leftovers--then the garlic really came through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Out of all of the recipes that we tried this year for Thanksgiving, this was the only one that fell short. It was OK, and that's it. I would probably eliminate any water and use only milk, use slightly more fresh rosemary, and maybe more...I don't know, they just weren't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
my skeptical non yam liking friends love this recipe.. i now use it every xmas and thanksgiving as my potato dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahlahh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
These are incredible! I made these one year for Thanksgiving, and now I have to bring them every year- everyone loves them! They're a bit time-consuming to make, but worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I was a little disappointed in this recipe, simply because yams are one of my favorite foods and I felt they really got drowned out by diluting them with the baking potatoes. I used yams and potatoes that I had grown this year so they were quite fresh. Next time, I will reduce the butter, replacing with more milk. I also had to increase the rosemary to 1 1/2 t. but next time I think I'll use fresh rosemary. I liked this dish but my family did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This recipe was a hit! The combo of yams and potatoes has just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
The reviews were 5 stars for this recipe so I gave it a try and I agree. I might make one small change and do the potatoes and yams 2/3 to 1/3 rather than 1/2 and 1/2 to mellow the flavor just a little but this was delicious. I also liked the taste of this recipe before baking as just mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
my roommates absolutely loved this recipe. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
EXCELLENT!!! I did make a few changes. Because I used about 2lbs of each type of potatoes I increased the amount of garlic (I used an entire bulb) plus added a bit more rosemary. To make it creamier, I used an entire stick of butter. Not the healthies of recipes, but it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
A fun twist for potatoes. If I make it again I will add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States