Rosemary Mashed Potatoes and Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. You can also use sweet potatoes instead of yams. Instead of garlic gloves, I used minced garlic and simmered in olive oil over the stove until slightly golden brown. I also used half & half in place of milk, and softened the dried rosemary by boiling with the potatoes. I left out the salt, and omitted baking in the oven at the end. It was absolutely delicious and will be making this for every Holiday meal and buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I wasn't too impressed with this dish. I found it be a bit bland and didn't like the baby food-ish consistency. The dish was edible and no one complained at the Easter dinner I served it at, but I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The first time I made this it got rave reviews. The second time, not so much. I followed the recipe exactly so Im not sure what happened. I will give it a third shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I made this for a church potluck last night and everyone loved it. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Wonderful! I served these with prime rib for Christmas dinner and they received rave reviews from my guests. Very creamy and sweet without the cloying sweet potato taste. I did not bake them but warmed them in the microwave just before serving. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Made this to go with lamb on boxing day. The flavours really complemented each other. I love garlic and roasting it this way before adding to the mash is very tasty. Thanks for the recipe, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is the first time I made mashed potatoes and yams. I made it this past Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Although the next time I make it I will add less milk because I like mashed potatoes to be thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
First, get rid of the rosemary. It did NOT compliment the yams at all. It was actually pretty bad. Everything else was ok. I love yams but this just didn't do it for me. Pretty Blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
It's OK, but not worth the extra work to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
totally delish. I forgot to add the parm cheese on top and it still rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States