Rosemary Mashed Potatoes and Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Deliciously different! I didn't add the garlic cloves to the potatoes since the garlic was a little charred; I just added the garlic-infused oil which gave it a nice, subtle garlic flavor. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Not a fan of yams or sweet potatoes (not even regular potatoes) and I loved them! Really tasty and I believe the secret is in the roasted garlic! My family loved them. I didn’t add the water from the potatoes as the consistency was already very light (I even would’ve reduced the milk a little next time). But all depends on your taste! UPDATE 5/12: I made them again with little changes: used minced garlic and put it in the oven for 30 minutes with the oil. used 1/4 of heavy cream instead of milk. again no water. and I add sheddar cheese...Oh my goodness! delicious!!! better than the first time Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salvamea45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I thought this recipe could be tweeked somewhat to incorporate the flavors better, but my husband really liked it. I'm not a big rosemary fan, but loved the texture and garlic flavor of this recipe. Also, it tasted more like potatoes than yams so if I made this again I'd reduce the amount of potato and increase the yam portion by about 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McLani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
The reviews were 5 stars for this recipe so I gave it a try and I agree. I might make one small change and do the potatoes and yams 2/3 to 1/3 rather than 1/2 and 1/2 to mellow the flavor just a little but this was delicious. I also liked the taste of this recipe before baking as just mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I loved these potatoes. What a nice change from sweet potatoes with all the butter and sugar. I used chives instead of rosemary. I also boiled the garlic cloves with the potatoes instead of roasting. FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Update/Edit: Only 4 stars due to cooking method (would give 4-1/2 if I could). I steam the sweet potatoes on their own so they aren't watery. I mash the white potatoes with the milk/butter + a little sour cream - separately. I rough mash S/P's with 1 T finely minced FRESH rosemary (I don't recommend dried) and fresh Asiago cheese (didn't have parm) and add it all 'in' the potatoes. Salt & pepper both kinds of potatoes and don't use any 'potato' water - why use that? THEN - I gently fold the two types together. I make ahead so these do get baked but covered. I think it looks rather unique since it's kinda two toned and everyone thinks they're delish. Have made several times but go a bit less on the S/P portion to white potato. I prefer white pepper in this vs black. I add fresh ground coriander, nutmeg & couple shakes of ground cayenne in the S potato mix. Nice idea & something easily modified for personal pref, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Yummy, yum, yum, yum! Excellent recipe! I can't believe anyone gave a bad review! My family loved it...even my picky 14 year old! One bit of advice for those people who made a short cut on the garlic...It is well worth the effort to roast the garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I altered the recipe by microwaving the potatoes in their skins (baked them), peeled them, and mashed them up in a bowl with the rest of the ingredients. Also used jarred garlic. I reheated the dish after getting Hubby home from work tonight, he's "hooked" on it! Many Thanks Ibby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These are the best mashed potatoes. It is easy to do, because you can do it in steps, not all at once. I didn't change a thing, but have never had to use the reserve cooking liquid from the potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Verona, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
As a bunch of young college students having a Thanksgiving away from family, I made this dish just to say we had yams at Thanksgiving. Everyone started with a small spoonful to be nice and then before I knew it half of the dish was gone! It was a hit. I used minced garlic which took away half the time of roasting and I couldn't be more pleased with the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States