Rosemary Mashed Potatoes and Yams with Garlic and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
The BEST mashed potatoes ever! I've never baked them, per the final step - just mash them and put them on the table, where they are immediately eaten by my family. These have become the standard for our family dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I made with sweet potatos instead of yams and it was still very good. Use fresh rosemary, it makes quite a difference. I thought it had a very good overall taste, but if you like a strong garlic flavor use more. My guests thought it needed a little more salt, but that may be because I used very little salt in cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Thank you for this recipe. My husband and I loved it. I did not have time to bake it, so I just served eliminated that step. To suit my taste, I added a pinch of allspice and nutmeg and topped the mound of potatoes with a sprinkle of brown sugar. Exquisite with lamb and asparagus and a nice red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner...It turned out well and was a nice change from regular mashed potatoes. I sauted minced garlic with olive oil instead of using whole garlic cloves. I only used about a 1/4 cup of the reserved liquid from boiling the potatoes. It was plenty creamy without putting in any more of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I found this recipe a few years ago and made it for Thanksgiving. I wanted something different than the traditional mashed potatoes. I LOVED IT! I made it the following year and on other occasions as well. My guests enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
The dried rosemary gave it a texture that I didn't care for. Maybe it'll be better with fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Made it for a catered affair of 32 people, absolutely no leftovers. Kept it hot in a large crockpot and served it with "Tangy Honey Glazed Ham" from this site and green beans. Thanks a lot for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Very different yet very delicious. It is not that hard to make and it can be prepared the night before and then cooked the day of the event. It tastes wonderful with the rosemary adding a great kick. I am a fan of lots of cheese so the extra made it wonderful for my friends and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
less rosemary or omit. go easy on milk until right consistancy. sprinkle green onions on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Turned out good and the family liked it too. I recommend a bit more garlic and a little garlic salt mixed in before baking.. Although it takes some time to make these, the prep is pretty easy! Made a good side dish at our Thanksgiving dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States