Rosemary Lemon Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Simple and delicous! Lemon and rosemary pair well together and this was no exception. Like just about everyone else, I used olive oil (about 1/4 cup) instead of butter. Not only because it's healthier, but because in terms of marinades it just tenderizes the chicken a lot better. I love fresh rosemary and fresh lemon along with the garlic and I also added just a bit of dijon mustard to the mix. I pounded the chicken down thin and poked it with a fork. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate for about 6 hours turning it a few times during marinating. Wow - what tender, juicy chicken that was full of wonderful lemony herbed flavor! This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Instead of butter, I used extra virgin olive oil and threw everything in a plastic bag. I also pounded my chicken breasts very thin. I served platter style with some fresh rosemary and grilled lemon slices. Presentation was gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Delicious marinade!!! I used olive oil rather than the butter (much healthier), and then grilled this on my George Foreman and it turned out perfect, very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I changed it up a bit but it was still a hit!! I doubled the lemon juice and substituted the butter with olive oil. I also didn't have fresh rosmary so I used a TBS of dried. Marinated it for 5 hours and baked it. It came out really tender and moist. Definately cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I've made this twice--I was asked for the recipe. It was SO good. Definitely recommend--used olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnticEnerG

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Very tasty and easy to make- I used extra-virgin olive oil for a slightly healthier version, so it wasn't thick enough to use for a topping- I used half to marinate and half to baste. My husband and I will both definately try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I too used olive oil instead of butter. Used fresh rosemary from my garden and 4 cloves of garlic. This was really good! Grilled in my grill pan on the stove. Easy, simply, yummy flavors. For the review before me, you always want to take your rosemary off the stem. Maybe you just used too much. It can be overpowering. To ANGELLACHELLE, will be using again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was sensational!! Delicious chicken recipe that received rave reviews from my family! Although I did tweak it a bit. I found the marinade to be a bit bland and the lemon to be very overpowering so i added some salt and a little steak seasoning. I also used half butter and half EVOO as suggested by other reviews. I wanted to cut down the marination time so I sealed the chicken and all of the marinade into a vacuum-sealed bag for one hour. I didn't feel it needed the basting and it turned out fantastically! This was a great recipe and will make it again in the future Thanks! P.S. If you add salt to the marinade only pepper the chicken breasts for it may be too salty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wow this was good! the only change I made was to use Olive Oil instead of butter. I have fresh rosemary and used a suggestion to put some sprigs on the coals. 4 min each side and they were done, tender, juicy and so tasty! Now I have a great recipe to use my fresh rosemary and meyer lemons! I also had some red potatoes so sliced them about 1/4th inch and brushed with the marinade laid 'em on the grill and they took 4 min each side... YUM! Thank you for this marinade for boneless skinless chicken breasts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catchyoulater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Flavors are good, but needs too much tweaking to give more stars. Butter does not make a marinade, it makes a flavored butter. I melted it to blend, but it hardens upon being placed on the cold chicken. Next time, I will use olive oil and maybe just a little butter for that flavor. Also, for the same reason, grilling doesn't work well with the butter. However, it can be roasted in a very small pan so the chicken is packed tightly, so the butter can melt, but can't run very far from the chicken. But flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Grilled Lemon Chicken

A zesty marinade for grilled chicken breasts. Dinner’s ready in minutes.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States