Rosemary French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
super tasty! I added a little more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I didn't make this in my bread machine, but did it the "old-fashioned" way instead and baked it in the oven. I did not need any extra flour, in fact I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfectly! I baked in the oven at 450 degrees for 20 minutes, then turned the heat down to 400 and cooked an additional 17 minutes. It came out a beautiful golden brown color, nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I was worried it wouldn't turn out after reading some reviews, and after I discovered my yeast had expired in October, but I needn't had worried! I'm afraid I might eat the entire loaf before dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Perfection! So easy to alter for a basic french bread too. I did add about a tablespoon of dried milk powder for a flakier crust. Turned out perfect in my bread machine! I was using the bread for my Christmas French Toast Casserole and it was the best it ever tasted thanks to this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've made this bread quite a few times and it's always delicious and pairs well with homemade soups. I use powders garlic rather than fresh garlic because when I have used fresh minced garlic the bread doesn't rise as well and it comes out very dense. I also add a 1/4 cup more bread flour. I also add basil and a few other herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Dilworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I've made this six times now with mixed results. Flavor is good, but the dough tends to fall. Not worth the risk in my opinion - there are more reliable recipes for rosemary bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
the measurements for this are bizarre. 17 tbsp= approx 1cup and one pkg of yeast = 2 1/4tsp. I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. crushed up the dried rosemary before putting it in to release the oils and olive oil instead of butter. turns out great and the aroma while cooking is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Turned out to be good! I dissolve the yeast in the warm water first before dump the other ingredients. Also substitute the minced garlic with garlic powder. This is a perfect sandwich bread for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, it caved in and did not hold its shape, even after I added a bunch of flour. This time, I set the machine on the dough setting and then shaped the dough into small sandwich sized loaves. I don't think this dough is meant to hold the large loaf shape of the bread machine pan. I also did not include the rosemary or garlic and it was still pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beverly
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Wonderful wonderful recipe. This bread is awesome. Nice and light yet crusty. Totally delicious. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I changed nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicora, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Very nice bread. It ends up with almost a sourdough taste, perhaps from the garlic maybe, that I'm not used to, but it's really good! It does lack a bit of flour--about a half cup, and I generally don't bake breads in my bread machine, so I usually do the dough cycle, take it out then let it rise and bake in the oven. I did that with this bread; let it rise for a 1/2 hour, then baked for about 30 minutes at 375. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States