Rosemary French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
the measurements for this are bizarre. 17 tbsp= approx 1cup and one pkg of yeast = 2 1/4tsp. I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. crushed up the dried rosemary before putting it in to release the oils and olive oil instead of butter. turns out great and the aroma while cooking is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Turned out to be good! I dissolve the yeast in the warm water first before dump the other ingredients. Also substitute the minced garlic with garlic powder. This is a perfect sandwich bread for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, it caved in and did not hold its shape, even after I added a bunch of flour. This time, I set the machine on the dough setting and then shaped the dough into small sandwich sized loaves. I don't think this dough is meant to hold the large loaf shape of the bread machine pan. I also did not include the rosemary or garlic and it was still pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beverly
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Wonderful wonderful recipe. This bread is awesome. Nice and light yet crusty. Totally delicious. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I changed nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicora, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Very nice bread. It ends up with almost a sourdough taste, perhaps from the garlic maybe, that I'm not used to, but it's really good! It does lack a bit of flour--about a half cup, and I generally don't bake breads in my bread machine, so I usually do the dough cycle, take it out then let it rise and bake in the oven. I did that with this bread; let it rise for a 1/2 hour, then baked for about 30 minutes at 375. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is my go to recipe whenever I make bread. I often use whole wheat flour instead of white since we prefer the taste. I mix it in the bread machine but bake it in my oven. I like to place a small pan of water on the lower shelf of the oven (about a cup of water). That gives the loaf more of a french bread crusteyness. I would recommend it to anyone. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Dumpling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
The flavor and intent of this bread is wonderful, but the proportions are just not right, I had to add nearly a cup of flour to get the dough looking like a proper ball, and it still fell and came out very doughy. Falling is Ok since I like moist breads and it happens, but the doughy raw texture was just terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This bread was way to dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I've made this twice now in 2 days! It is excellent. I didn't have to add anything extra to the recipe, and just followed the instructions for my bread maker. I served it for happy hour with cold sliced chicken, cheeses, olives, and other assorted munchies. Everyone went wild! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I added at least 1/2 c more flour, as the dough was "soupy". It's still rising and smells good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States