Rosemary Chicken with Orange-Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I'm the originator of this recipe - glad people like it! Just a note - I *NEVER* use "maple-flavored syrup" - the folks at AllRecipes must have changed the original recipe I sent them. Always, always, ALWAYS use real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JUSTJACKIE
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Wonderful recipe. The only issue I had with the recipe as written is the glaze needs to be reduced after the chicken is done. I took out the chicken and brought the sauce back up to a boil for about 4-5 minutes until it was a true glaze, then simply spooned it over the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
After I read all the other reviews I made a small change to the recipe. For a serving for four it calls for 1 cup of orange juice I cut this down to 3/4 cup and I held back 1/4 cup of the 3/4 cup of juice to be added later to which I added 1 1/2 Tbsp corn starch. Keeping the sauce at a medium boil for at least 5 mins before you start to cook the chicken and keeping it there until you flip the chicken then add the 1/4 cup of juice with the corn starch and boil another 5 mins. Then add to chicken. It thickens very nicely and is very good even my fussy 10 year old who hates everything liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made this SO MUCH faster & easier & it was SPECTACULAR. Instead of cooking whole chicken breasts (which take longer) I cut two large chicken breasts into bite sized pieces. I sprayed a saute pan with Pam & put the chicken in (completely omitted the butter and oil step -- you don't need it). I sprinkled the chicken w/ about 1 heaping tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary and only 1/4 tsp salt & pepper since I had only half the chicken. I sauteed the chicken for about 5 to 7 minutes. I mixed the full amount of sauce ingredients (1/2 cup maple syrup, 1/2 cup white wine, one cup OJ). I did bring the sauce to a boil only to immediately realized that step did NOTHING for the sauce and was a waste of time & unnecessarily dirtied another pan. So I stopped right away and just poured the uncooked sauce over the chicken. I quickly scraped/deglazed the bottom of the pan to get up all the bits of rosemary & chicken (where all the good flavor settles). I simmered it for about 7 minutes before adding a tablespoon of butter to give the sauce a silky quality. I also grated about a half teaspoon orange zest into the sauce. Finally, I used about 1/8 cup orange juice to 1/2 teaspoon corn starch to thicken the sauce. Simmered 1 more minute then served it over mashed potatoes. YUM. Could put over brown rice too. This is right up there with the best of the recipe inspirations I've gotten from this site over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I forgot the wine, but made the sauce with just the oj and maple syrup. Wonderful, wonderful. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
HELPFUL TIP IF YOU WORK: I always make the chicken ahead of time then stick in my lock&lock container in the fridge, so that all I have to do is make the sauce when I come home, so the meal is ready in 10 min! I never use the rosemary since husband doesn't like it, but I do add lots of mrs. dash on each side while frying. Cutting the chicken to 1/2" thickness also makes this tastes better b/c it cooks faster w/o drying. That way you don't have to worry about the sauce cooking in raw chicken. I always add 1.5T of cornstarch (to part of the orange juice until it dissolves THEN add to saucepan) as soon as I add the syrup, and this thickened up REAL good. It's perfect when you're not in the mood to cook, but want something that looks like you did a lot. I've used all kinds of syrup, and it's all turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is by far one of the most tastiest dishes I've ever tried. It is an AWSOME dish and we plan to use it as one of our main dishes on our gourmet banquet menu. This dish will be used for weddings and other events. I would have rated it a 4 star only because of the glaze that I found took a bit to long, but the flavor is truly there and I feel it deserves a 5 star, so, there you go! By the way, I used organic fresh rosemary and this picture does this recipe justice and mine came out looking pretty just like in the photo. Ok everyone, ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearl River, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Absolutely delicious and quite easy to prepare. I made the recipe exactly as stated, no substitutions, and it was a winner. My husband loved it. I'll definitely be making this again. I served it over couscous with steamed vegetables on the side-- quick and easy enough for a weeknight meal, but with lots of flavor and a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Oooh I liked this recipe! I took reviewers' advice and used half the amount of maple syrup, and I added some cornstarch to reserved orange juice to put in at the end to thicken the glaze. My husband loved it and thinks I'm an amazing cook...this recipe is easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was a great recipe! I used blood oranges instead of regular oranges.. and I also used 100% maple syrup from a jar.I also added a bit of orange zest for a extra kick. I served it over herbed coucous.. and my husband just loved it. I did add a tablespoon of cornstarch to help thicken.. and it worked out great. Thanks! we'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States