Rosemary Chicken with Orange-Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I picked this to use up fresh rosemary and was not disappointed. The taste was unusual but very very good. However, I simmered the liquid for a good 20 minutes and it never really thickened but still tasted great, so it didn't seem to matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
Great meal for entertaining- served over white rice with green bean almondine. Chicken and sauce were excellent however we could not get it to thicken into rich glaze- had to eat as a sauce. Make sure to give time for sauce to thicken. Otherwise- fab!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
The sauce was way too thin and there was too much of it. The taste was only so-so. Would have been much better if it had actually been a "glaze". Maybe you have to let it boil longer, I don't know. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I forgot the wine, but made the sauce with just the oj and maple syrup. Wonderful, wonderful. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I really liked this recipe. Excellent, aromatic dish. I used dried rosemary and it worked fine. The sauce is thin, but it didn't matter. Quick, tasty recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
After I read all the other reviews I made a small change to the recipe. For a serving for four it calls for 1 cup of orange juice I cut this down to 3/4 cup and I held back 1/4 cup of the 3/4 cup of juice to be added later to which I added 1 1/2 Tbsp corn starch. Keeping the sauce at a medium boil for at least 5 mins before you start to cook the chicken and keeping it there until you flip the chicken then add the 1/4 cup of juice with the corn starch and boil another 5 mins. Then add to chicken. It thickens very nicely and is very good even my fussy 10 year old who hates everything liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Absolutely delicious! My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I liked but my husband felt it was just too sweet. I used less OJ and thickened to a nice sauce. I'd make again, but it isn't guest worthy. It is good, but not sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
After reading other reviews I think I see what's wrong with directions. Simmer the chicken and sauce uncovered, it will reduce to a lovely glaze that both looks good and tastes wonderful. I also used dry rosemary and it worked fine. I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
I gave this only three stars as half liked it, the other half didn't. I was on the side that didn't care for it much. I found it cloyingly sweet. Those with a sweet tooth will love it. The sauce was definitely too thin, so I used the other reviewer's cornstarch suggestion. Worked well. I may not repeat this dish--only if requested by those who liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States