Rosemary Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Making this right now and the whole house smells amazing. Only changes I made was adding chicken bouillon cubes for flavor... Also would have rather used egg noodles than Penne but I did not have either so used bow tie noodles. I know its going to taste great! despite some lesser rateings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
My family loves this recipe. This last time I made it I did not have thyme so I searched for a substitute and found a recommendation that tarragon is a good sub on chicken. I also added 2 more cups of water, added a tablespoon of broth mix, and added a half bag of frozen peas. the last time I made this I had some left over to bring to work the next day. this time they devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany0424
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My grandmother used to make wonderful chicken & noodles and since she passed away I have never been able to get it quite right.... but thanks to you I FINALLY got it!!! With a little tweaking this tastes just like hers did! Some changes I made: 7 C water, 2 C chicken broth, omitted the carrots, used extra wide egg noodles, and cut back on the rosemary and added some Italian seasoning. Also had to add a bunch of salt (and I am not a salt fan at all). I'm giving you 5 stars because without you it would have taken me much longer to nail her recipe... thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful basic chicken noodle soup. Chicken broth definatly adds extra flavor. I will make this over and over. My husband absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Fantastic! I made the recipe (almost) faithfully the first time, and it was very good. However, I did make a few changes the second time around that made the soup even better. First, much as I love rosemary, I did cut back by about half. I also added closer to 12 c. of water, and threw in about 2 tsp. of solid chicken soup base for extra flavor. Didn't have any penne on hand, so I used multi-colored rotini (which was great and added color and texture to the soup). Finally, I urge you to consider using boneless thigh meat in this recipe--soooo good! Not only does it offer a complex, gamey flavor, it's cheaper than buying breast meat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe G-G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camperdown, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was really good but the water measurement is WAY off. I had to add 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water after boiling the chicken in order to add the penne. I left out the oil and I used green onion instead of white. Next time I will double the amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was a wonderful and easy recipe. I did make just a few changes. I used 9 cups of water and 9 chicken boulons for flavoring. I wanted to end up with 8 cups for the soup and figured that I would probably lose one during cooking. I used 4 chicken thighs and some chicken tenderloin. I love rosemary, so I didn't think that the taste was too strong. It was just perfect for me. I didn't use thyme, just rosemary. Be sure and put the lid on the pot while you are cooking your soup for an hour and to turn down the heat to simmer, or you will lose too much of your liquid. While the pasta was cooking for about 9 minutes I took out the chicken, cut it into small pieces and returned it to the soup. I served the soup with garlic bread. The flavor was wonderful. My husband loved it. Will become a regular dish in our house. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The rosemary IS a bit strong. I would use 1T instead. I substituted celery and chicken broth for the chicken. It was quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
To me, this is really more of a chicken and noodles than a soup. As such, it felt more like it needed noodles, not pasta. So we used a 12oz package of extra wide noodles and cooked for around 10 minutes. Other changes were to add another clove of garlic, a shake of poultry seasoning, a bay leaf, seasoned salt, butter instead of oil, and a fair amount of pepper. With those changes, it was a whole pot of goodness. Add some crackers or a chunk of bread, and you're good to go. I do think that you could get more flavor by using more from the chicken than just the breast meat, but it was still a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by waterbugkek
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I thought this recipe was fantastic, but I made some changes: double the water, half the noodles (and I used egg noodles, as is traditional with this kind of soup, not penne pasta), add some chicken bullion for flavor. I also cooked my chicken for only 35 minutes before taking it out and shredding it, added the carrots ahead of the noodles, and then boiled the noodles in the soup according to the directions on the package of noodles before adding the shredded chicken back in and boiling it for another couple of minutes. In the long run, this turned out to be an excellent dish. I happen to like rosemary, so I thought that proportion was correct. One more tip: this is also good with some celery (added a few minutes after the carrots). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterbugkek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States