Rosemary Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This is an excellent base recipe, but it lacks flavor and the ratio of ingredients should be adjusted. Eight cups of water does not provide enough broth (at least if you're expected a result similar to standard chicken noodle soup recipes.) Prepared as directed (and adding two more cups of water, there was far too much pasta and too little broth. After we ate this and discovered how bland the broth was, I dressed up the leftovers with a can of chicken broth, onion salt, poultry seasoning and dried parsley flakes. I think future enhancements I would make would be to rub the uncooked chicken with seasonings, because the cooked chicken didn't have much flavor, either. I would also use about 2 cans of chicken broth (perhaps seasoned broth) in place of some of the water. I think this would be good in the slow cooker, simmering on low all day and adding the carrots and pasta at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Fantastic! I made the recipe (almost) faithfully the first time, and it was very good. However, I did make a few changes the second time around that made the soup even better. First, much as I love rosemary, I did cut back by about half. I also added closer to 12 c. of water, and threw in about 2 tsp. of solid chicken soup base for extra flavor. Didn't have any penne on hand, so I used multi-colored rotini (which was great and added color and texture to the soup). Finally, I urge you to consider using boneless thigh meat in this recipe--soooo good! Not only does it offer a complex, gamey flavor, it's cheaper than buying breast meat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe G-G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camperdown, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Save yourself the trouble by not attempting it...especially at the prescribed levels of rosemary...much, much, much too strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This was the first time I have ever tried making any kind of soup(other than canned), and I can't begin to tell you how upset I got after making this recipe! And yes, I followed the recipe word for word! I guess I should say that I have only been cooking(other than frozen dinners) for about 6 months. The recipe sounded just fine, however, after the first part of the recipe was boiled for one hour, I realized that I was in trouble. There was little to no liquid left in my pan. I still added the penne pasta, oil, and carrots anyway, as described in step two of the recipe, figuring that it was just my own lack of faith in my cooking skills that wasn't right. Well, needless to say, after the pasta soaked up what little remaining broth there was, I was left with a thick mess of ingredients and no "soup"! I have sworn that I will never try another soup recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was a wonderful and easy recipe. I did make just a few changes. I used 9 cups of water and 9 chicken boulons for flavoring. I wanted to end up with 8 cups for the soup and figured that I would probably lose one during cooking. I used 4 chicken thighs and some chicken tenderloin. I love rosemary, so I didn't think that the taste was too strong. It was just perfect for me. I didn't use thyme, just rosemary. Be sure and put the lid on the pot while you are cooking your soup for an hour and to turn down the heat to simmer, or you will lose too much of your liquid. While the pasta was cooking for about 9 minutes I took out the chicken, cut it into small pieces and returned it to the soup. I served the soup with garlic bread. The flavor was wonderful. My husband loved it. Will become a regular dish in our house. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Good base recipe but like everyone else did I had to add about 4 more cups of water and I used egg noodles instead of penne. I also added some spices including poultry seasoning and a little celery salt. I think next time I will cook the chicken breasts whole and take them out at the end to shred them and put them back in the pot with the noodles and the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I loved this recipe. I followed all the main ingridients but also made some changes. I added celery and more water (about 4 more cups). Since I added more water I also increased the amount of rosemary, thyme, garlic and onions (not by much though). I only used 1/2 a box of penne. I didn't use the 2 TBSP of oil I only added 1/2 TBSP of oil. I also added the juice of 1 sour orange. If you don't have sour orange you can substitute it with lime (to your taste). This recipe is great because it is healthy and all the ingridients used are without any preservatives and good for the body. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Sooo yummy! I agree with everyone about cutting back on the rosemary, 1 1/2 tablespoons should be more than sufficient. My mom is allergic to wheat so anytime we make soup with noodles we'll always serve wheat noodles and rice noodles on the side. Now, even when I'm not cooking for her, it's my favorite thing to do! No more overcooked noodles yay! would be very good with celery. I also buy a rotisserie chicken precooked anytime I have chicken noodle, it's always much more moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful basic chicken noodle soup. Chicken broth definatly adds extra flavor. I will make this over and over. My husband absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe and it was not very good, I used left over roasted rosemary whole chicken from the night before. The spices gave it a bland taste, with the absence of the chicken noodle soup flavor. I tried adding chicken stock but it was too late to save the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States