Rosemary Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This recipe had mixed results for me. I made it exactly as written, using chicken breasts for the meat, and canola oil for the vegetable oil. But I was skeptical of 8 cups of water sufficing for boiling for 1 hour and 20 minutes, so I had the pot on a very low boil, or maybe simmer. Even then, the soup wound up extra chunky. Worse, I thought that what liquid remained, was weak and not very flavorful - I would have added 1 or more bouillon cubes, had I known. Worse yet, when I had leftovers the next day, almost all of the liquid had been absorbed (presumably into the pasta). The chicken/veggies/pasta/spices tasted nice, per se, for a simple chicken soup, but I thought the addition of a whole pound of pasta was overkill. Not to mention penne being pretty unusual in a "chicken soup". Overall, this recipe just didn't work very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by waterbugkek
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I thought this recipe was fantastic, but I made some changes: double the water, half the noodles (and I used egg noodles, as is traditional with this kind of soup, not penne pasta), add some chicken bullion for flavor. I also cooked my chicken for only 35 minutes before taking it out and shredding it, added the carrots ahead of the noodles, and then boiled the noodles in the soup according to the directions on the package of noodles before adding the shredded chicken back in and boiling it for another couple of minutes. In the long run, this turned out to be an excellent dish. I happen to like rosemary, so I thought that proportion was correct. One more tip: this is also good with some celery (added a few minutes after the carrots). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterbugkek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
To me, this is really more of a chicken and noodles than a soup. As such, it felt more like it needed noodles, not pasta. So we used a 12oz package of extra wide noodles and cooked for around 10 minutes. Other changes were to add another clove of garlic, a shake of poultry seasoning, a bay leaf, seasoned salt, butter instead of oil, and a fair amount of pepper. With those changes, it was a whole pot of goodness. Add some crackers or a chunk of bread, and you're good to go. I do think that you could get more flavor by using more from the chicken than just the breast meat, but it was still a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
My family loves this recipe. This last time I made it I did not have thyme so I searched for a substitute and found a recommendation that tarragon is a good sub on chicken. I also added 2 more cups of water, added a tablespoon of broth mix, and added a half bag of frozen peas. the last time I made this I had some left over to bring to work the next day. this time they devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Used tarragon and basil instead of thyme and red onion instead of white.... i think that was fine. I listened to the other reviews...bland....not enough water.... and I compensated. But it was still bland and not enough water :( ! More salt and pepper help, post cooking time. I would add even more chicken stock, bullion, or what have you to make it worth your time. And the directions, while blissfully simple, don't advise any very literal people to reduce the soup to a simmer and cover for the hour and 20 of cook time. Jazz it up people, and it will be palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
First, unless you really love Rosemary, this recipe is not for you. And if you love Rosemary, use fresh, not dried!! I've never heard of chicken soup with boneless skinless chicken before.. Seems like this should be altered to be just a chicken and noodles dish, not soup. It's bland because there is no chicken skin/bone. Also, adding oil?? No way. This could be a good base recipe if you use the right chicken, spices, and NO OIL! also, add water about half way through. I'd cook it a lot longer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany0424
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My grandmother used to make wonderful chicken & noodles and since she passed away I have never been able to get it quite right.... but thanks to you I FINALLY got it!!! With a little tweaking this tastes just like hers did! Some changes I made: 7 C water, 2 C chicken broth, omitted the carrots, used extra wide egg noodles, and cut back on the rosemary and added some Italian seasoning. Also had to add a bunch of salt (and I am not a salt fan at all). I'm giving you 5 stars because without you it would have taken me much longer to nail her recipe... thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany0424

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was really good but the water measurement is WAY off. I had to add 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water after boiling the chicken in order to add the penne. I left out the oil and I used green onion instead of white. Next time I will double the amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The rosemary IS a bit strong. I would use 1T instead. I substituted celery and chicken broth for the chicken. It was quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Making this right now and the whole house smells amazing. Only changes I made was adding chicken bouillon cubes for flavor... Also would have rather used egg noodles than Penne but I did not have either so used bow tie noodles. I know its going to taste great! despite some lesser rateings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States