Rosemary Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2000
Very good. Made a few changes. It was different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This is an excellent base recipe, but it lacks flavor and the ratio of ingredients should be adjusted. Eight cups of water does not provide enough broth (at least if you're expected a result similar to standard chicken noodle soup recipes.) Prepared as directed (and adding two more cups of water, there was far too much pasta and too little broth. After we ate this and discovered how bland the broth was, I dressed up the leftovers with a can of chicken broth, onion salt, poultry seasoning and dried parsley flakes. I think future enhancements I would make would be to rub the uncooked chicken with seasonings, because the cooked chicken didn't have much flavor, either. I would also use about 2 cans of chicken broth (perhaps seasoned broth) in place of some of the water. I think this would be good in the slow cooker, simmering on low all day and adding the carrots and pasta at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This was the first time I have ever tried making any kind of soup(other than canned), and I can't begin to tell you how upset I got after making this recipe! And yes, I followed the recipe word for word! I guess I should say that I have only been cooking(other than frozen dinners) for about 6 months. The recipe sounded just fine, however, after the first part of the recipe was boiled for one hour, I realized that I was in trouble. There was little to no liquid left in my pan. I still added the penne pasta, oil, and carrots anyway, as described in step two of the recipe, figuring that it was just my own lack of faith in my cooking skills that wasn't right. Well, needless to say, after the pasta soaked up what little remaining broth there was, I was left with a thick mess of ingredients and no "soup"! I have sworn that I will never try another soup recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
I ended up having to tweak this recipe a lot. I used 12 cups of chicken bouillon, 1/2 cup of butter, and different seasonings. I also used wide egg noodles instead of penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
A little heavy on the Rosemary but otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike McCarrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
It was ok. I was reading the past comments and what I did was put 16 cups of water, 3 1/2 Tablespoons of chicken boulon and when it is all said and done, the water cooked down and hardly had any broth for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRZQU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Save yourself the trouble by not attempting it...especially at the prescribed levels of rosemary...much, much, much too strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was a wonderful and easy recipe. I did make just a few changes. I used 9 cups of water and 9 chicken boulons for flavoring. I wanted to end up with 8 cups for the soup and figured that I would probably lose one during cooking. I used 4 chicken thighs and some chicken tenderloin. I love rosemary, so I didn't think that the taste was too strong. It was just perfect for me. I didn't use thyme, just rosemary. Be sure and put the lid on the pot while you are cooking your soup for an hour and to turn down the heat to simmer, or you will lose too much of your liquid. While the pasta was cooking for about 9 minutes I took out the chicken, cut it into small pieces and returned it to the soup. I served the soup with garlic bread. The flavor was wonderful. My husband loved it. Will become a regular dish in our house. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I loved this recipe. I followed all the main ingridients but also made some changes. I added celery and more water (about 4 more cups). Since I added more water I also increased the amount of rosemary, thyme, garlic and onions (not by much though). I only used 1/2 a box of penne. I didn't use the 2 TBSP of oil I only added 1/2 TBSP of oil. I also added the juice of 1 sour orange. If you don't have sour orange you can substitute it with lime (to your taste). This recipe is great because it is healthy and all the ingridients used are without any preservatives and good for the body. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful basic chicken noodle soup. Chicken broth definatly adds extra flavor. I will make this over and over. My husband absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States