Rosemary Chicken Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was a delicious recipe! Great combination of flavors - I was tempted to leave out the olives but I'm glad I added them - the kalamata's added a delicious, subtle taste. To make it a little lighter, I used much less oil and whole wheat couscous. You can also used reduced fat feta to cut out some more fat. I also sauteed the chicken in a balsamic marinade to give it extra flavor. The second time I made this I used fig flavored white balsamic which was delish! Update - made again replacing sundried tomatoes and olives with dried cranberries and chickpeas. Also used a honey flavored rotisserie chicken. It worked great for a sweeter option (can also use goat cheese instead of feta)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is an interesting, tasty recipe; I'm so glad I tried it! I made it last night because the ingredient mix was not a familiar taste combination to me. Also, I wanted to make enough to share with a neighbor who had been very helpful to me during some recent medical problems and now had some of her own. I made the recipe as written, though I used extra virgin olive oil (2/3rds cup), 1 1/2 Tbs regular balsamic vinegar, and added a bit more lime juice (didn't have lemon) after tasting. In my mind this is not a big change to the recipe. Used the fresh herbs, rather than dried, as listed. The dressing tasted a bit odd, but other reviewers said to try it. I cut up two boneless skinless chicken breasts into fairly small slivers rather than chunks, then pan fried a few minutes, added some water, covered, and cooked through. Drained the juice (saved for my cats) then refrigerated the chicken. Julienned English cucumber with a small V-Slicer Plus mandoline (available from BB&B), chopped the kalamatas, and chopped some oil-packed sundried tomatoes. Made 1 cup couscous in only 1 cup water with some butter and Herb-Ox dried chicken bouillon powder. Turned out fine. Mixed it all up and tasted. Needed some more salt and pepper. Then added about a cup of chopped oil-packed artichoke hearts and tasted again. Great! Served over chopped lettuce. My neighbor and her husband really enjoyed it, wanted the recipe for herself, and my husband wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Great for a summer meal. Friends loved it and asked for the recipe. I would cut down on the vinegar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great refreshing salad! I did make a few changes though...didn't have sun-dried tomatoes so used roasted red and yellow peppers. Also, this recipe makes WAY too much dressing. It had a good flavor (I used a 1/2 C evoo and a 1/2 C lemon juice, 2 T. regular balsamic and the rosemary, S&P) but I only used a few tablespoons to dress the salad. Maybe just put it out on the table so your guests can put as much or as little as they want on their salad. Addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was just awesome! I made it as written since this was my first cooking experience with couscous and my first time with a Mediterranean style dish. I will make this often, but I will definitely cut way back on the olive oil, and I'll use fresh tomatoes and cucumbers out of my garden instead of sun-dried tomatoes and English cucumbers. Probably going to use black olives next time just from an expense standpoint, too. I'll also thoroughly cool the couscous before adding the cucumbers since the cucumbers became slightly less crispy because of the warmth. The flavor was unbelievably good, and I'm trying to think of other uses for the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
DIDN'T LIKE AT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Really delicious. I only used about 3/4 of the salad dressing and there could be less olive oil, and I didn't use white balsamic. I added dried cranberries as well as the sun dried tomatoes because it definitely needed some colour, however next time I make it I will use the cranberries and omit the sun dried. I will also like to add some artichokes next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I would recommend using less olive oil. Nice served hot. Leftovers great in a pita or tortilla wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Like another reviewer I also wish I could give this 3.5 stars. I followed the recipe exactly as written. If I make this again I will use basil or oregano in place of the rosemary. Also I would add artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
So yummy! I've made this time and time again for family and friends and is a huge hit. The only thing I changed was the amount of fresh rosemary...I use a little less, but either way one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffjoy75

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States